Seedlings already??!

I just returned from a warm, sunny paradise to snow.  Boo!  But, it has made me start thinking about summer.  Mostly this is in the form of why can’t it be warm right now?  But, I have also started to think about my little garden and I’m thinking I better get a move on or I won’t be able to start my seeds!!  Burpee’s zone finder claims that in zone 8, my first frost free day is sometime around mid-April (although it was closer to June last year because of Juneuary), so that means I have six weeks or so to get some seedlings sprouted!  Ack!  How did this creep up on me?  

So, what am I thinking of planting? Well, Burpee has this little bunch of seeds that looks quite promising and are all things that I was planning to plant.  I’m not sure about saving $650 dollars, but its a nice thing to think.  I would have to work a bit harder at canning, freezing, and harvesting than I have been to save that much. Plus we’d probably have to have a larger garden and eat more veggies in the winter. Here’s a picture show of what I hope will spring up in my garden. Plus we always have raspberries and blueberries. Yum!

I was also thinking of maybe planting some artichokes. I know that I probably wouldn’t get any this year, but does anyone know anything about growing them in this area? How much sun do they really need? The spot that I would love to put them in isn’t in full sun. How do they winter? Do I have to do anything special for them?

Ahh. I can’t wait for it to be summer and I’ll be sitting in my backyard harvesting all of my goodies, lounging on a lawn chair. In the meantime, I’m wearing fur slippers and a sweater.

2 Responses to “Seedlings already??!”


  1. 1 Rick February 13, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    I think you might have a problem with rain & artichokes.

  2. 2 Becky February 22, 2009 at 9:45 am

    It is already time to start sprouting seeds? I’m glad you posted this because otherwise I would have completely forgotten about doing it!


Leave a Reply

