Inspiration Needed

At the end of a season, I always get bored with cooking meals.  For instance, at the end of summer I am just fine with putting away  the barbecue and pulling out the crock-pot.  I just get tired of the same meals over and over.  That is where I am this week. Winter needs to be over soon.  I want farmer’s markets and veggies from my garden.  I am out of my lovely frozen pesto from the basil I grew.   I love beef stew, but I don’t think I want to make another one or pull the one in my freezer out again.  Macaroni and cheese is totally yummy, but I’m not sure that I want it either.  

So, I’m asking for help from all of you.  Each week we make a “menu” of what we’re going to have for dinners, then go buy groceries.  Its easier for planning, buying, and shopping to do it this way.  Below is my menu for this week.  Please post yours (it doesn’t matter if its a preview or last week’s menu) in the comments and maybe we’ll all get some ideas to spice things up!

Wednesday~ Pork Chops, rice pilaf, and frozen veggies (BORING!!!)

Thursday~ Oriental Spaghetti and Meatballs a la Rachel Ray

Friday~ Pizza Potluck: Carmel Apple Dessert Pizza (more on this later!)

Saturday~ Mexican Potluck: Mom’s Rice and Beans (yummy, but uninspired)

Sunday~ Tortilla Soup

Monday~ Papa Murphy’s pizza

Tuesday~ Beef and Barley Stew (from the freezer) and homemade french bread

18 Responses to “Inspiration Needed”


  1. 1 Rick February 19, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Well, I’m in Maui by myself and I do have open farmers markets soooo neider neider.
    Have you thought of stir fry? with pork or chicken, over rice, lots of veggies, bean sprouts, broccoli, carrotts, celery, onions. You can go easy with oil by cutting it back and using broth to fry in. A little soy sauce—-yummy. and great to microwave the next day for lunch.

    • 2 mysillylittlelife February 19, 2009 at 7:36 pm

      I made a stir fry tonight… it was excellent. Great idea! Clara loves it. I know that you’re barbecuing hot thighs and chicken breast with double the sauce since Mom’s not there. Yum!

  2. 3 Rick February 19, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Am not! not, not, not!! But since you mentioned it I will be tomorrow

  3. 4 Michele February 20, 2009 at 11:05 am

    This week’s menu:

    Tuesday: Garlic Soup (great for sick husband) with Greek Salad and bread

    Wednesday: Burritos

    Thursday: French vegetable soup with gruyere crisps and bread

    Friday: Pizza Potluck

    That is all I have planned (I tend to go on strike on the weekend). I’ll comment again with next week’s menu!

  4. 6 Kristen February 20, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Okay here goes what we are having this week:

    Tuesday: Homemade pancakes and fruit

    Wednesday: Sloppy Joe Pizza Pockets and salad http://www.rachaelraymag.com/recipes/sandwich-recipes/sloppy-joe-pizza-pockets/article.html

    Thursday: Thai Chicken Roll-Ups and salad http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=223714

    Friday: Tex-Mex Pasta and Salad http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1097017

    Sunday: Penne with Spinach Sauce and Chicken http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/penne-with-spinach-sauce-recipe/index.html

    Monday: BBQ Tri-Tip and baked potatoes and salad

    • 7 mysillylittlelife February 20, 2009 at 1:07 pm

      Oh! I forgot about the Tex-Mex salad. That’s really yummy! See? That is why I get into a rut. I just forget about all the possible options.

  5. 8 Chelsea February 20, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    The other night Chris took some chicken tenders and pounded them flat, then wrapped them around asparagus (about 5 pieces per tender) and then baked them, it was very yummy, and really fast. I think he just seasoned it with salt and pepper. I highly recommend it, as long as you like asparagus that is.

    • 9 mysillylittlelife February 20, 2009 at 1:04 pm

      Yummy! That sounds awesome and asparagus is totally coming into season. Yeah!! I can’t wait to try that. How’s your bread making going?

  6. 10 Becky February 22, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Unfortunately my menus aren’t very exciting, but here it is from last week….
    M- chicken salad with honey mustard dressing (from quiznos)
    T, W, Th- soft tacos- this is what happens when you’re single and make a big meal…
    F- Steak, asparagus, mashed potatos- I was at my moms doing taxes and they informed I was eating with them, a nice break from tacos.
    Sat.- The rest of the taco stuff
    Tonight- Pizza from Walery’s!

    • 11 mysillylittlelife February 22, 2009 at 1:44 pm

      We have tacos about once a week, but Adam gobbles them up fast so I don’t have them for nearly as many days? What’s the meal of the week for this week?

  7. 12 Kristen February 22, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    We had the Penne with Spinach sauce tonight, and it was DELICIOUS!! I did not use the goat cheese (I didn’t have any oh well)and just used what cream cheese I had in the fridge. I used frozen spinach that was chopped and just let it thaw. I put everything for the sauce in the blnder and some of the pasta cooking water and it was GREAT! Drew gobbled it up too. We put grilled chicken on the top of ours and that was yummy. Drew, Andy, and I all shared one chicken breast, so it was not that much chicken. I highly reccomend it, it was really easy too.

  8. 13 Michele February 22, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Garlic Soup:

    15 garlic cloves (roasted in oven at 400 degrees with a little olive oil for 10 minutes), then pureed with one cup veggie broth.

    Meanwhile, boil 2 cups veggie broth and 2 cups water. Add 1/2 cup orzo pasta and cook 7 minutes. Add 1/2 cup frozen peas and 1 teaspoon thyme, and the garlic puree. Cook 3 minutes more. It is best if you cook it the day before or several hours earlier.

    • 14 mysillylittlelife February 23, 2009 at 11:36 am

      Yum! That sounds so easy and good! And all of the stuff is in my house right now… I may have to make it tonight or tomorrow!

  9. 15 Michele February 22, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    This week’s menu:

    Monday: Butternuy squah ravioli and salad

    Tuesday: Split Pea soup with bread and salad with oranges, alonds and scallions

    Wednesday: Zao Bowls (Vietnamese Rice Noodle Salad) basically I follow this Rachel Ray recipie http://www.rachaelray.com/recipe.php?recipe_id=1923, substitute steamed honey sesame tofu for the meat and saute the shitakes with some broccoli and carrots, double the sauce and serve it over thin rice noodles, and garnish with mint and cilantro leaves.

    Thursday: Broccoli Tomato calzones

  10. 16 Rick February 22, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    OK, I’m living alone at the moment and I cook better than most.
    Remember Hot chicken salad?
    Dressing: equal parts blue cheese, mayonnaise, sour cream, ts spoons vinegare clove diced garlic.
    Make a green salad, put in whatever you like.
    Cut up chicken breast into bite size chunks, fry in a little oil and smother with Franks Hot Sauce
    Put dressing on salad and add chicken, I like putting the juice left in the frying pan on my salad.
    Dressing must be made the day before.

  11. 17 Liza March 2, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Hi Danette! I just made really yummy salmon fillets from a recipe I got out of Rachel Ray’s mag. It’s really easy and really quick! Here it is:

    Ingredients
    1/3 cup brown sugar
    2 1/2 tbs dijon mustard
    juice of 1/2 lemon
    salt and pepper
    4 salmon fillets
    2 tbs veggie oil

    1.Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a small bowl whicsk brown sugar, mustard, lemon juice and 1/2 tsp pepper
    2.Heat a large oven proof skillet over high heat. rub the salmon with the oil and season with salt and pepper. Place in the skillet skin side up. Cook until crisp brown crust forms, about 3 minutes. Remove from the heat, flip the salmon and coat with the brown sugar mixture. Transfer skillet to oven and bake until the glaze caramelizes and the fish is cooked through, about 5 minutes.

    I served with rice pilaf and green beans, it is tasty!

    • 18 mysillylittlelife March 2, 2009 at 8:41 pm

      Yum! I always forget about making fish… no reason, we like it, but I just don’t. This sounds yummy and easy, though. I think I’ll put it on next week’s menu! Thanks, Liza!


Leave a Reply

