Exercise Kick-off!

I did something yesterday that I haven’t done in… well, really since Clara was born!  I worked out!  I bought a jogging stroller with the best intentions to use it for what it was meant to be used for, but I just haven’t.  My expanding backside, though, has finally encouraged me to start jogging again.  I found a workout plan in my family circle magazine that I get for free and don’t really like that much, but read anyway because its around.  Here’s the plan:

0-5 Minutes~ Warm up walk

5-8 Minutes~ Fast walk/jog

8-11 Minutes~ Bench dips and Bench push ups

11-15 Minutes~ More jogging

15-18 Minutes~ Walking lunges and Calf raises

18-23 Minutes~ Push yourself jogging

23-27 Minutes~ Cool Down

27-30 Minutes~ Scissor kicks and Plank (at home)

I did it yesterday and today I can feel the lunges in my butt and my arms are sore from the bench exercises.  But I  feel good.  Its sunny today (no snow, thank goodness), so I think I’ll do it again after we go grocery shopping.  My goal is to do this every other day (or 3-4 times a week) and if its raining/snowing, then I think that I’ll try to do some of the workouts that I have put on my watch instantly queue on Netflix (have I mentioned that I love our Roku?).  I should make sure they have a great abs workout on there since my belly flab is getting ugly!  We’ll see how it goes.  I think that I’ll commit to checking in with everyone in the blogdom every Friday for the next month to have a little insurance that I’ll actually follow through with my plan.  If you would like to join me in commiseration about your workouts, you can check in on Fridays, too.  Then we can keep each other motivated a bit. 😉

10 Responses to “Exercise Kick-off!”


  1. 1 Kristen February 27, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Well I don’t work out on Wednesdays and Fridays, but I will checkup on you on Fridays! I have been working out for at least 40 minutes 5 days a week. My backside is expanding also!

  2. 3 Andrew February 27, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    if you get stale on your workouts, go to http://www.crossfit.com for some good ideas for short intense workouts. I will check in with you on fridays and we can track our progress together. I am still doing P90-X and am starting to run more now (about 30-45 average 3-4 times a week). Gotta be ready for the lake!! Hope you guys are all doing well.

  3. 4 Caron February 27, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Such a great idea! I recently started giving exercise a go again too, I signed myself up for the 5K Shamrock run to stay motivated to work out so I don’t look like a total geek in front of my husband and friends on race day 🙂 If you are up for the run I put info about it on facebook. Good luck!!

  4. 5 Jillian February 27, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Oooh, I love that you mentioned exercise videos on Netflix…and this roku thing. I’m checking it out.

    Good luck on exercising! And you got no expanding backside, crazy mama! 😉

  5. 6 Kristen February 27, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    if you need additional ideas for workouts that are short and intense to help with your journey check out http://www.crossfit.com

  6. 7 Kristen February 28, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    I went to yoga this morning

  7. 8 Becky March 1, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    My current workout routine: Mon and Wed- kickboxing at 5:15 am and walking at 5:30 pm all for an hour. Tue and Thurs- group weights class at 5:30 am for an hour. Then on Saturday a longer walk, we’re currently doing about 7 miles but are training for a half-marathon so we will be adding miles. I’ve been a bit lazy the past couple weeks and now I’m sick hopefully it won’t be too long before I get back to doing it all… I don’t know if it was just a skinny day or what but I was able to make my belt one hole tighter today!

    • 9 mysillylittlelife March 2, 2009 at 8:43 pm

      OMG, that’s a lot of working out! Good for you going down a belt hole! What half-marathon are you doing? I don’t think Clara would go for sitting in a stroller for that long, or I might think about doing it with you.

  8. 10 Karen March 2, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Ihave not been walking in 12 days as in Pinole, but will be back to 3 1/2 miles a day BEACH walking in Maui Tuesday hurray, as for all that other stuff FORGET IT. You’d have to really look hard for fat on you!!!


Leave a Reply

