Our home art museum

I have had the never-ending, always-growing magnetized toddler art exhibit on my refrigerator since October (maybe a bit before that).   It was getting out of control.  The art had taken over.  I could barely open the refrigerator door without something falling off.  So, after reading the new blog from one of my favorite bloggers, I was finally inspired to do something about it.  I wasn’t so excited about the cork board idea that she put forward because it just seemed like it would look messy anywhere I might put it in my house.  I have enough clutter without adding to it purposefully. I did like her idea at the end about the frames, though.  I had been thinking about doing that for a while, but hadn’t gotten around to it.  So, today Clara and I finally went to Dollar Tree (another of my favorite places, which, by the way, now carries our favorite toothpaste!) and bought a bunch of frames, put in our six favorite art pieces, and put them up on the wall.  The plan is to rotate when she makes new ones and keep only the very best to put into a scrapbook… or maybe a binder.  I like the idea of a binder that she can flip through like a book too.  We’ll see.
Photobucket

6 Responses to “Our home art museum”


  1. 1 Kristen March 12, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Very beautiful, but no Picasso yet I am afraid. Keep posting pictures of her new art when you rotate it!

  2. 2 Karen March 12, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    what wall did you put it on couldn’t tell, also thought you were painting the frames green, what do you think? Clara could do it–well maybe on a hot day with a hose.

    • 3 mysillylittlelife March 13, 2009 at 6:36 am

      They’re on the wall that you see as you go down the stairs. I was thinking of painting them green– I still might if it ever warms up outside.

  3. 4 Stephanie O'Dea March 13, 2009 at 6:53 am

    Oh it’s beautiful! You did a great job. I LOVE the Dollar Tree.
    xoxo steph

  4. 5 carrita March 13, 2009 at 8:06 am

    Our granddaughter is so talented! I love your blog. Keep them coming. I like the frames just the way they are. But green might be fun or different primary colors for each frame.

  5. 6 Anonymous February 19, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    No Picasso yet??! Of course not, not at that age, but she does a beautiful job! I love it.


Leave a Reply

