Making the bed

I have never learned to make my bed on a daily basis.  My parents never made me when I lived at home, and I didn’t really care to.  In college I was sleeping in as late as possible before running across campus to my 9:00 class.  When we moved up to Portland, Adam was working nights, so as soon as I got up, Adam would go to bed, so that was futile.  So, it just never happened and I didn’t care.  

But, I have learned somthing about myself recently.  I like to get into a freshly made bed.  I like to feel still tucked in and I like it when all the sheets are smooth and not bunched in one corner of the bed.  Unfortunately, I sleep with a tornado.  Adam rolls and kicks and flings himself around as he sleeps and so the bed is always a disaster when we wake up.  I am a quiet sleeper.  When I’m by myself, I barely muss the sheets.  I could just stand up, pull the covers back up and it would look as if I had never been in there.  I have tried to convert Adam to my way of sleeping, but to no avail.  

So, there is only one thing to do.  I have resolved that I will make my bed every morning before I shower.  I think that it will make me happier in the long run.  And maybe Clara will pick up this habit (although both my mom and Adam’s mom both do it and it never rubbed off on us).
Photobucket

5 Responses to “Making the bed”


  1. 1 Kristen March 14, 2009 at 11:37 am

    I make my bed every morning and Andy does it sometimes too! It is easier for me because I don’t tuck any of the blankets or sheets in at all.

  2. 2 Rick March 14, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    What bull. You must have a very selective memory. Are you actually saying you have no recall of all the arguements about your not cleaning your room, picking up after yourself, etc. I even starting throwing your things out into the yard to get them out of the living room, hallway, etc.
    What do you mean by “never made me”? Were we supposed to put a gun to your head?

  3. 4 Karen March 14, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    OMG I yelled at you everyday as a teenager to make your bed, as a child you were taught to do it and did, I finally gave up at 18 when you moved to Salem. Yes it is nicer each night to have a smooth bed and pillow case to lay down on, and I have made my bed everyday of my life, and taught that to you too. Mimi would be proud of you now sweetie

  4. 5 carrita March 15, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Yeah! It makes life a bit less confusing to walk into a bedroom that is neat and tidy. I must confess I made Adam’s bed for him too many times to count. It was just easier than to argue.


Leave a Reply

