Bock, bock, bock, bock, chickens?!?

chicken dance Pictures, Images and Photos
For the past three or four years, I have harbored a secret (okay, maybe not so secret) desire to have my own flock of chickens.  They could eat my dreaded slugs and bugs.   I could feed them scraps from the kitchen.  They could lay me eggs which I would bake into all kinds of yummy breads and cookies.  They could wander the yard while I garden and cluck pleasantly.  Oh, I know that it is somewhat ironic that I would have chickens in my backyard whilst not eating eggs myself.  But Adam eats eggs and I cook with eggs, so its not totally weird. 

I am fully considering taking the plunge this spring.  But of course I have to decide soon so I can get myself some little chicks!  But what kind?  How much would they cost to maintain?  What kind of care and cleaning am I taking about?  I’ve been trying to research such things and I’m learning a lot.  But is it worth it?  Will I really enjoy it?  Can I build a coop?  Where would I put it?  Will they like Clara?  What would I do with them on vacations?  How much work are they really??!!

What do you guys think of this cock-a-maime idea?  Should I do it?



12 Responses to “Bock, bock, bock, bock, chickens?!?”


  1. 1 Kristen March 25, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Wow, a cat is too much work, but chickens are easier? I have no idea what it takes, maybe mom and dad know something about it since they did farm and stuff when they were younger and there are chickens all over Hawaii. . . .

  2. 2 Jillian March 25, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    I couldn’t vote because I want to click on every answer you listed! 🙂
    I’ll say that in my imagination it sounds really cool! Good luck!!

  3. 3 Rick March 25, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    First, you need to consider the &%^#@ government. Can you legally have chickens at your place? I disagree strongly with the government restricting private property rights to the extent they do. But your taxes will be paying for their lawyers to stop you and the government does have a monopoly on force.
    That said, chickens are not as hard as many think. It is quite easy to set things up to where you can leave them for long periods of time.
    If you want good info on this your Grandmother Adelay would be the one to talk to. I’m sure she would talk your leg off about it. Don’t know if you could handle it though.

    • 4 mysillylittlelife March 25, 2009 at 11:02 pm

      Portland allows three hens per household without a permit. No roosters, but I wouldn’t want one waking me up anyway.
      I think maybe a letter to Grandma about the chickens would be in order. Hey, how do you feel about coming over to help me build a coop? I’m not sure that my fort building and bird house building (ala Mr. Wodtli) are enough skill. Adam could help, but it would be more fun with you.

  4. 5 Chelsea March 26, 2009 at 7:57 am

    I think you should definitely do it! I have always wanted to do that someday. So you do it, and tell me how it is!! 🙂

  5. 6 carrita March 26, 2009 at 8:14 am

    Adam can tell you we had chickens in Indian Falls. It was fun but we did have to kill a rooster on occasion and that was not fun even though Bob did it and the meat was tough. The eggs were great. I still remember going into my Grandmother’s coop and be so excited to see how many eggs there were and what colors they were going to be. I say ‘go for it’ but do have someone to take care of them while you are gone. You don’t want what happened to Amy and Harry happen to you!

  6. 7 Karen March 26, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Well at least you have givien up on the dairy cow, Remember our story about Cliff and lil Del having to shovel chicken shit all day at Grandma’s, they have alot of it, but then it is good for tomatoes. I would really think about it,very hard. They do drink alot of water believe it or not, don’t know how long you could leave them.HMMMMMMMMMMMMM too much work for me,

  7. 8 Karen March 26, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Also forgot about the 2 chicks I had as a kid in my bedroom, even inside had to keep a heat lamp on them for the longest time till they grew quite big. You would need electricity for a while, and they do take 8 to 12 months before you have them laying eggs.

    • 9 mysillylittlelife March 26, 2009 at 1:41 pm

      From what I’ve read, they only need the heat lamp for four to five weeks (until they get real feathers) when they would probably be living in our basement with a heat lamp and then they can go outside in their coop. Most only take four to five months before they start laying (so late summer).

      • 10 courtney March 27, 2009 at 12:11 pm

        Two of my neighbors have chickens…2 of which flew into our yard and Lucy and caught them and put them back in their yard. I really want chickens but here’s the reason I’m waiting. 1. Time, it seems like I can barely find time to clean the litter box for the cats now a days but since you are not working you may find more time. 2. Rats-Yes the rats like chicken food and eggs, and portland has a TON of them so be sure to keep food and eggs out of reach. 3. Ruining the Yard-You should see what my neighbors ‘chicken pasture’ looks like, they will eat almost anything and I’m not sure if i have an area in my yard that I want to devote to them. If you don’t want a dust bowl I think alot of urban chicken yards have gravel on the ground. Ok, so those are just a few off the top of my head. Oh and I believe chickens do need a light or heat lamp in really cold winters like we had last year. Both my neighbors had lights on in the winter at night (I know becuase I could see it from my bedroom window). And the idea with 3 chickens is if 1 dies there’s at least 2 left to keep eachother company. I guess chickens don’t like to be alone.

        There’s my 2 cents, Lucy and I would be happy to feed them if you guys ever go out of town.

        Good LUck!

      • 11 mysillylittlelife March 27, 2009 at 1:03 pm

        Thanks, Courtney! I think that I have the time, but the energy, well, that’s another question. From what I read, it depends on the breed of the chicken whether they need heat in the winter. I’m hoping to avoid that problem. What do your neighbors do with their feed to keep the rats from getting it? That’s just gross.

      • 12 courtney March 27, 2009 at 1:38 pm

        I think they moved the food out of reach and they have to keep the coop clean. I’ll ask next time I see them. You could borrow Mosley…last summer he brought home 5 or more baby rats (that he killed), I’m guessing he caught them in the swales alongside the road. And baby rats are quite big. yuck!


Leave a Reply

