Recycled Art Station

I have been thinking about getting a table and an easel for Clara for the last few months.  She loves to paint and draw, so I know she would love it.  Unfortunately, I have just not felt like I wanted to spend the money or that I want to devote the room to it in my living space.  Selfish, a little, but also practical.  How long would she really use it for?  Then I stumbled upon this book, which I highly recommend.  Highly.  I have been totally inspired by it.  They have a section on paint, doughs, things that make marks, things that stick, things that make impressions, and just cool stuff that you can make for your toddler (or they can help you make).  I’m sure that I will be reporting on a large number of things that Clara and I do from this book.  This is just the first.  

Anyway, when I went shopping this morning, I was inspired to make Clara a surprise.  I purchase the following things: one plastic tablecloth ($1) and one pizza box ($0.75) at the grocery store.  Then I came home and found a big box that sits about one and a half feet tall, some good, strong tape, two binder clips, and one Cheerios box.  I taped the tablecloth around the big box, wrapping it like I would a Christmas present.  Then I opened the pizza box, put the Cheerios box inside it so that the pizza box would stay open, and taped it there.  Then I taped the binder clips onto the pizza box.  Whala!  Toddler art table and easel!

 PhotobucketPhotobucket

The best thing about it is that I don’t care about it if paint gets all over it.  I can wipe down the plastic tablecloth if need be.  I can store the whole thing in the closet and just get it out when we’re doing projects, and two  kiddos could use the easel if I “installed” another set of binder clips on the other side of the pizza box.  Plus, Clara’s sloppy painting can decorate it.
Photobucket

5 Responses to “Recycled Art Station”


  1. 1 Kristen April 9, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    You did not say what book it is! I guess that I will have to click the link. We may have to this too, it looks pretty cool. We have NO art supplies though, so who knows what Drew would do with the easel. . . .

    • 2 mysillylittlelife April 10, 2009 at 7:21 am

      It is First Art : Art Experiences for Toddlers and Twos: MaryAnn F. Kohl and you need it! You need to get over your fear so that Drew can explore! Don’t worry. I’ll set him up when I come down.

  2. 3 Rick April 9, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    “Clara’s sloppy painting” HOW DARE you speak that way of my grandaughter!!!!

    Cleanliness challenged free spirit, perhaps.

  3. 4 carrita April 10, 2009 at 7:58 am

    How very clever! But I agree with your dad. My granddaughter is not sloppy, just relaxed.

  4. 5 Karen April 10, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Oh I should have read this first before looking at the pictures of the day. Great idea, she will have lot’s of fun with it!! I wonder why her mother loves to color?MMMMMMMMMM must be an inherited gene, Mimi GraMoo Mommy now Clara


Leave a Reply

