In chick related news…

Things are going just swimmingly… or maybe flyingly…with the chicks.  They are growing like weeds, literally twice the size they were when we got them.  Here are pictures of them as of today.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Clara is still in love with them and tells them, “Morning!” every morning.  She loves to take them outside to play during her snack time.  They love it too.  Their favorite thing ever is running around pecking in the grass. 

 Photobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

On Saturday morning I woke up earlier than the rest of the family and went downstairs to read and surf the net.  I was disturbed by a loud squak from the chicks and immediately went to investigate.  This is what I found:

 Photobucket

Buffalo’s wings seem to be quite functional.  Too much, in fact.  She is constantly flapping and trying to get somewhere.  They now have a wire cover over their tupperware brooder box.  Wouldn’t want to lose the feisty one!

Lastly, today we finally finished the hen house.  I’m glad that at least part of this project is over.  We still haven’t moved it to its final location (as we may be topping a tree that it will sit under) and I still have to plan and execute the building of the run, but at least the biggest part is over.  

 PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

It seems to be waterproof (at least there’s none leaking in) and all the doors are functional.  It is larger than I was imagining, actually, and I really like the clear roofing for letting light in despite what  a pain in my rear it was to cut and install.  I would still use it again, especially since it means that the chickens will get light as soon as the sun comes up without me having to go out at the butt-crack of dawn.  Also, can I just say that I have the best husband ever, helping me to make this.  He was very patient with the fact that I had no idea what I was doing and I think ended up being impressed by my quick learning skills at least as far as nailing things together goes.  

3 Responses to “In chick related news…”


  1. 1 Kristen May 10, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Sounds like you had a fun Mother’s day! I like the coop, I did couldn’t even tell there was a roof on it until you wrote about it! Can’t wait to meet these little chicks, of course they will probably be big chickens by the time I get there!

  2. 2 Karen May 11, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Wow you are set, can’t wait to see the chicks next week. But mostly you guys. Had a great mothers day thanks to my girls, and Adam.

  3. 3 Becky May 14, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    I think its very cute that Clara greets them every moring! 🙂


Leave a Reply

