The Coop: Finale

Well, the drama is finally over.  The coop is done.  Adam claims that he thinks I did a good job.  I’m not so sure.  I do know one thing.  Next time I say that I’m thinking about building something, some one needs to slap me first and tell me I’m crazy.  Kristen, you’re in charge of that.  

Here is the finished product. This is the view from the house/patio:
Photobucket
Here is the view from the rose garden/veggie garden/ lawn:
Photobucket
Here is the side view of everything, but especially the step that Adam built me (love it and thank you tree toppers for that) and the post and gate that had me in tears:
Photobucket

The girls are loving it.  They spend all day outside in it right now and then I have to chase them down to get them in the bucket to come back inside at night.  I can’t wait until they can live outside all the time.  Adam has warmed up to them considerably now that they are outside most of the time (they were too loud inside for him) and has been bringing them worms to eat.  They love them and yesterday when Adam gave them a six inch long night crawler, they fought over it, running back and forth, stealing it, then having it stolen for a good five minutes.  Their favorite foods are watermelon rind, strawberries, slugs, and worms.  Yum.  

Curry and Maize:
Photobucket

Buffalo:
Photobucket

6 Responses to “The Coop: Finale”


  1. 1 carrita June 1, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    That looks SO cool! Way to go to both of you and good for the girls. I can’t wait to see it in person. You should have your own show. We can call it Danette, the builder.

  2. 2 Becky June 1, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    I think it looks great!

  3. 3 Kristen June 1, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    I can definitely be in charge of slapping! That is right up my alley! Is the coop up next to the house or is it down by the little play house in the corner next the John and Jonnie’s?

    • 4 mysillylittlelife June 1, 2009 at 8:08 pm

      It is right by the patio, by the stairs that go down to the grass. Its right next to the chain link fence.

      • 5 Kristen June 2, 2009 at 7:40 am

        Oh so you can smell chicken poop when you are eating dinner on the patio! Or have enteratinment and watch them while you eat!

      • 6 mysillylittlelife June 2, 2009 at 2:08 pm

        Entertainment, yes. I’m hoping to keep the poop smell and flies to a minimum. So far, so good. I’m putting sand in the run to help both.


Leave a Reply

