Different

is my new least favorite word.  It is pronounced diff-ert in the two-year-old dialect.  Clara uses it to mean that she wants anything else and/or her own way.  For instance, if I were to say to her, “Let’s go outside, ” and head for the back door, she would tell me “Diff-ert,” and drag me to the front door.  We’ll be eating dinner and she’ll grab my plate or water and announce, “Diff-ert,” while pushing hers away and strewing mine across the table.  These sorts of things go on all day long.  I’m tired today.  Can you tell?  Independence is very demanding.
6/9/09

2 Responses to “Different”


  1. 1 Kristen June 12, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    This must be new since last week. I am tired today too, no napping for Drew or I for two days and lots of waking up in the middle of the night, I might just go to bed now.

  2. 2 Karen June 13, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Maybe Clara decided something diff -ernt is better than falling face down on the floor!!!One could hope, she is learning that everything has a different concept, pretty smart little cookie, maybe choc chip or peanut butter!


Leave a Reply

