Homemade Chicken Feeder

Today I made a chicken feeder all by myself… well, mostly.  Adam watched and then took it over half way through.  But I did part of it myself.  I was amazed to discover when I went to the feed store that a big chicken feeder that would hold enough feed for a couple of weeks was at a minimum over $30.  I was not about to pay that much.  These chickens are supposed to be saving me money… as well as being good pets.  I looked around and found this plan for a feeder on-line. I looked briefly at it and thought, “I can do that.”  I grabbed my bucket, the base of a planter, and Adam’s drill and set about it.  First I drilled holes all the way around the base of the bucket, then I drilled one hole through the middle of the bottom of the bucket and through the planted base.  I screwed the two parts together through the hole in the middle.  Then I put in my feed.  It didn’t come out.  I needed bigger holes.  This is where Adam took over (not that I couldn’t have done it myself).  The holes had to be about an inch in diameter when it all came down to it.  But, it was a really simple, practically free project that saved me $30.  And now I can leave the chickens for a week and not worry about whether they are starving.    

Photobucket

7 Responses to “Homemade Chicken Feeder”


  1. 1 Kristen June 29, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    You are like the farming Martha Stewart now! Is there anything that you can’t do? So now you can go to camp and to the lake and not have someone over everyday to feed them!

  2. 2 Becky June 30, 2009 at 11:42 am

    You are so crafty!

  3. 3 mysillylittlelife July 1, 2009 at 7:17 am

    Well, I have one more piece of advice on this one… Either put the feeder up higher on bricks or hang it suspended by the handle. My girls have been kicking feed all over and its driving me nuts. I can’t wait until they’re old enough for me to switch them to pellets… crumble is messy!!

  4. 4 Karen July 1, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    You better teach them manners before I come take care of everyone! But the feeder looks great, Shiela is getting 12 new chicks this week, selling way to many eggs!!

  5. 5 gabriel July 7, 2009 at 9:41 am

    thats a good feeder,but you cannot see your amount of food left.Also the chickens do tend to still pull out the food onto ther run floor.dont try this for a waterer because the dirt can leech inside and up into your bucket causing a foul vomit-like smell.Use 3-5 gallon plastic bottles and invert them into buckets.drill access ports for your chickens and its easier to see if they are running out of food.Also stuff a big sponge inside the neck of the water bottle so no dirt can leech.

    • 6 mysillylittlelife July 14, 2009 at 1:08 pm

      Humm… the water bottles are a good idea, but I don’t have as easy access to those. I just lift the lid of my bucket to see how much food is left. Its not a big deal. Now that I’ve put the feeder up on bricks the chickens are keeping their food in the feeder quite well. They’re really too lazy to climb up the three inches to scratch in it.

  6. 7 Joe Neron January 18, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Very nice feeder! Great idea.


Leave a Reply

