Garden Update

Here’s a pictoral update on my garden.  Dad reports to me that Michelle Obama has harvested lettuce and peas from her garden and I am happy to report that I am keeping up with the Obamas.  I have harvested three heads of lettuce (and desperately need to harvest another two at least) and Clara and I pick peas for snack in the backyard every afternoon.  We are also getting raspberries and are expecting a bumper crop (a.k.a. more than I can handle) within the next week.
Photobucket
The blueberries are coming along nicely and we’ll likely have ripe ones in a week or two) hopefully after we return from camp so that the birds don’t eat them all.
Photobucket
I’ve had a hard time starting my pumpkins this year as I planted some and then a huge wood pile was put over top of them, then I planted some more and the slugs ate them. This is my third try. We’ll see how it goes.
Photobucket
In other squash news, I have way too many zucchini plants for my own good. It’s going to be crazy. I tried to give some away, but really only had one taker. Same with the butternut squash. You guys let me know if you’re willing to take some when they ripen. Otherwise, the zucchini in your mailbox didn’t come from me.
Photobucket
I can’t wait to harvest my rainbow chard… I’ve never grown it before and really don’t know what to do with it, but I’m excited to try.
Photobucket
My six tomato plants are doing well so far and I’m planning to make a ton of roasted tomato sauce as last year’s three gallons were gone in no time. Hopefully six plants will be enough. I would love to be able to make enough for most of the winter.
Photobucket
Let’s see. The basil is coming along okay, but slowly. I expect it will pick up soon. I’m starting to see some little broccoli sprouts on those plants, but my beans are doing horribly. They have become the slugs’ favorite snacks and even though I pick the slugs off and feed them to the chickens, more just seem to appear out of thin air. My artichokes are coming along nicely, although they won’t produce for another year and Adam accidentally hacked one down with the weed wacker.
Photobucket
I have little hope for my bell peppers, which as usual are doing horribly. I just don’t know what the trick with them is, but the cilantro right next to them is doing great. My sunflowers are coming along nicely and I’m hoping to actually be able to roast and eat seeds this year and not end up with a huge moldy seed mass in the fall. When it starts raining, remind me to cut them down!
Photobucket
My new favorite thing in the world is this beautiful sprinkler that Adam bought me this spring. Not only is it pretty, but the rings spin when its running and make me want to drag Clara out and run through it. It makes me smile.
Photobucket
Finally, the roses are doing great and smell wonderful when I pick them to put them on the dining room table. Have I mentioned how much I’m loving our back yard right now? Hummm… Urban farming is going quite well.
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

5 Responses to “Garden Update”


  1. 1 Travis June 30, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Your garden is beautiful, and I’m very jealous of it all — including the hens that eat the slugs.

    I can’t wait to see pictures of the blueberries.

    Have fun at camp!

  2. 3 Karen July 1, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Wow the sprinkler is pretty cool, does it do a good job? Your garden is looking good, hopefully Clara and I can pick bluberries for you!!!
    Swiss chard is really good especially with onions and proscuto a tiny little bit of nutmeg, grated fresh, and oil and vineger. The roses are beautiful.

  3. 4 carrita July 2, 2009 at 8:51 am

    That’s so cool. You’ve got a taker for the squash right here. And the berries.

  4. 5 Rick July 2, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Does this mean the winter whining is officially over??? Ahh, er, I mean your whining not mine.


Leave a Reply

