Juicy!

Clara has very recently fallen in love with words.  There are just some that she loves to say, and of course some that are ridiculously funny.  I am loving it.  It all started with the word burp, which ended the book A Birthday for Cow.  I would read, “Burp,” then Clara would repeat it again and again with more and more uncontrollable giggling each time.  Then the word “toot” started to elicit the same reaction and I thought that maybe it was only bodily sounds that she found so funny.  That was until yesterday. 

Clara loves watermelon.  She loves it more than any other fruit and almost as much as chocolate.  As I was cutting up a watermelon yesterday, Clara was snatching pieces out of the bowl next to me and shoving them into her mouth.  Juice was rolling down her chin and all over her shirt.  I said, “That’s some juicy watermelon, isn’t it?”  Clara’s response?

“Juicy!!!” followed by a gale of laughter.

“Juicy!!”  More giggles.

“Juicy!!”  Howls of laughter.

“Juicy!!” Practically rolling on the floor.  

This went on for about ten minutes.  It was adorable.  I’m glad that it’s just cool words that are so funny and not physical functions.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that.  For a two year old.
Photobucket

3 Responses to “Juicy!”


  1. 1 Kristen Creese July 4, 2009 at 7:37 am

    I can’t wait to see her! I want to teach her more bodily function words like spit and booger! I am sure we will have plenty of watermelon for her to say is juicy too! Drew has a new set of words too, but most of them only I can understand and he only says them when I ask him too. . .

  2. 2 Rick July 6, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Well, maybe I can have some fun and make mommy angry at the same time. I’ll teach her to put fun words together—–like juicy toot!


Leave a Reply

