First Egg!

Photobucket
I walked out to the coop this evening, with a garden shoe full of cold rain water, let the Douglas Fir drip on my head as I closed the gate, then walked around to close the coop door.  I opened the door up to the nesting box to find… OUR FIRST EGG!!  I’m so excited!!  I did a little jig and ran up to the house to show everyone!  I don’t know who laid it, but I am thrilled by the prospect of having working chickens rather than free-loading, still pooping on my patio table chickens. The egg is a bit smaller than a normal, store-bought egg, but they’re still young.
Photobucket
Oh, and she even laid it right in the nesting box next to the two fake eggs. Such smart girls I have.  Kristen is planning to eat it for breakfast tomorrow morning before she leaves to go home.  Fried, in an Egg McMuffin, I believe.

Photobucket

5 Responses to “First Egg!”


  1. 1 Kristen September 30, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    It was a DELICIOUS first egg! I want more . . . . .

  2. 2 Rick September 30, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    I am expecting fresh eggs for breakfast Sunday

  3. 4 Karen October 1, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Oh boy eggs for breakfast, need egg cartons?? Which lady is it?

  4. 5 Rick October 6, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    The egg you made for me Sunday was excellent—-you should try one.


Leave a Reply

