Happy Thanksgiving!

This week we at preschool were talking turkey and Thanksgiving.  They are both concepts that two-year-olds can’t really conceive of.  What’s special about having dinner with some family?  We’re going to eat a bird?  Gobble Gobble.  What does it mean to be thankful?  What are you thankful for?  Candy!  Despite that, I persevered.  We made, looked at, and read about turkeys.  We had fun, but did I make any headway?  Not really.

Photobucket

Apple Turkey
Photobucket

Sponge Painting Turkey

Well, even if Clara and her buddies don’t get it, I do. I’m grateful for more than candy. I have a wonderful family, want for nothing, and the freedom to do just about anything I please. I don’t think it gets much better than that. And I am very thankful for that.

4 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!”


  1. 1 Kristen November 25, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Wonderful pictures! The apple turkey is really cool, it looks hard though. I am thankful for you and Adam and Clara and my second favorite neice that shall remain nameless until her parents make a decision!

  2. 2 carrita November 25, 2009 at 11:24 am

    I, too, am so greatful for our family. I so often just want to sing for joy because of how I love all of you. Love the turkeys.
    Carrita

  3. 3 Karen November 25, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    I agree we all have alot to be thankful for, the apple does look a little complicated, how long did that take you? The waves today were huge and beautiful turquoise colors. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner. Gobble Gobble, Clara gets a leg right???

  4. 4 Rick November 25, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Of course you made headway. I know you don’t think you can just let a young mind simply stagnate until you decide it can reason and understand. Clara will, at some time, do or say something that will let you know she made progress. You’ll be surprised and amused when she does.


Leave a Reply

