Advent Calendar

Delayed gratification is a hard concept for many (most?) adults. So, you can imagine how hard it is for a two-year old. Even waiting for Mommy to go to the bathroom is too much many days, let alone waiting for noodles to cook for lunch. Which is why I am now torturing myself with an Advent calendar. Really, Clara loves it. She gets a piece of chocolate and “words” which tell her what our holiday activity for the day will be. But if I have to hear, “I want candy!” more than ten times tomorrow… She just doesn’t understand why she should have to wait until tomorrow to have another piece. But, its good for her, I keep telling myself. She’ll learn how to yearn for something and not have it yet. I’m just not sure what I’m learning from the experience.

I made my advent calendar based on this one at Kid’s Craft Weekly. It was actually easier than it looks, but don’t be mistaken, Clara did not help me make it. She only helped to empty the candy out of the cups.

Photobucket
Photobucket

4 Responses to “Advent Calendar”


  1. 1 Kristen December 9, 2009 at 9:06 am

    So what are the holiday activities that you get to do everyday? I want some candy too! Good thing that it is hung up on the ceiling so that Clara can’t get to it. Drew has now learned how to climb up on the sides and back of the couch to reach things up high, so watch out or I will send Drew down there to teach Clara how to do it!

    • 2 mysillylittlelife December 9, 2009 at 2:52 pm

      The activities are mostly things that we’re already doing. Today’s was shopping for Clay’s Christmas present. If it ever warms up some here we’re going to do a Christmas light walk after dinner. I have been doing lots of Christmas crafts, though, when I can’t come up with something else. That’s actually been good for me, as it spurred me to have Clara make presents for the family to send instead of trying to kill myself making cookies. Its no fun without you. Anyway, so now everyone is getting a toddler-made present (more on this later) and one kind of cookie.

  2. 3 Rick December 9, 2009 at 10:52 am

    At some point you’ll become aware of what you’re learning. It may take years. Remember it’s a journey not a destination.

  3. 4 Karen December 10, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Well, have to admit that is a great idea, just think you are having another girl, who will ALSO love chocolate, seems we all do. You are doing great, today I saw alot of fun charactors in miss Clara, alot of imagination, that is GREAT love you Gramoo


Leave a Reply

