Tie-Dye Love

Sorry that I have been lagging behind on my blogging.  I meant to blog about our last preschool at our house.  We did a great alphabet truck project, but I didn’t take any pictures, so it just didn’t happen.  But, I have a few different valentine ideas that I’m going to post in the next couple of weeks to make up for it.

This is the first of the valentine’s crafts and its the easiest painting project that we have done… possibly ever.  All you need is a cheap tray of kid’s watercolor paints, some paper towels, and scissors.  That’s it.  I’m stealing this idea from this blog (which is awesome, by the way, and has tons of ideas for cool bento boxes for kids’ lunches and snacks).  She gives much better directions than I’m about to give, so if you don’t get it, go there.
Photobucket
First I cut four hearts out of a paper towel.  Then I folded them up into a strip of paper towel and added some water to each of the paint colors in the watercolor box.  Clara could hardly control herself at this point, as I used a straw to add the water and that was just too cool.  Then I had Clara dip the paper towel heart strips in the paint water until each one was completely colorful.  Then we unfolded and beheld the tie-dye magic.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
They took a while to dry (overnight), but they look awesome in the sunshine on our new-ish windows. And yes, there is sunshine today! I have proof!
Photobucket
Clara loved making these so much and they were so easy that we may go buy some card stock and make tie-dye cards, too. Of course, I also just promised a bunch of other valentine craft blogs…
Photobucket

9 Responses to “Tie-Dye Love”


  1. 1 Karen February 2, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Those are really cute, so did you roll them into a seperate paper towel strip or just fold the heart into a strip? Clara is going to be so crafty, unbelievable!! And a cutie too!

    • 2 mysillylittlelife February 2, 2010 at 5:31 pm

      I just folded the hearts up, then we dipped them in the paint. Easy-peasy!

      • 3 mysillylittlelife February 3, 2010 at 8:47 am

        We have made twelve more since I posted this and Clara is now adept at folding the hearts up herself now. She’s become a little obsessed… scarily obsessed.

  2. 4 Rick February 2, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Where’s Claras tie-dye t-shirt??

  3. 5 Wendy February 2, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    These came out great! And how cute is your little girl with that look of concentration on her face? Adorable!

  4. 6 carrita February 3, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Totally awesome! And I’m glad there is sunshine. I don’t think there will be here for a few days. I love Clara’s smile! So accomplished.

  5. 7 Kristen February 3, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    What a waste of paper towels! You should be saving those for when Mom comes to live with you, you know that she uses at least a roll everyday! I love them and can’t wait to get mine!

  6. 8 Rick February 4, 2010 at 12:52 am

    Who’s Wendy?


Leave a Reply

