Seed sprouting and garden plan!

I love the part of the year where I get to dream about the garden with out really having to do much in the form of work. With just a little bit of inspiration and a short walk to the garden shed for seeds and potting soil, I can fulfill my gardening need. No weeding required…yet. I started my cool weather veggies last week (broccoli and lettuce) in some recycled materials. I’ll keep you updated on how this works, but so far, so good. I used toilet paper/paper towel rolls, and plastic containers that grape tomatoes came in.
Photobucket

Step 1) Cut your toilet paper rolls in half (or paper towel rolls into fourths).
Photobucket

Step 2) Fold in the bottom of your tube.
Photobucket

Step 3) Fold in the wings, making sure that you don’t end up with a hole in the bottom… otherwise your soil will fall out.
Photobucket

Step 4) Add soil and seeds. Place in plastic box. Water and place in a sunny, warm spot to sprout! When its time to take them out to the garden, you can plant the whole roll and everything and they will compost around the plant just fine.
Photobucket

Here’s my planting schedule for the garden.  First, though I have to turn all the soil in my raised beds before I get too pregnant… which may be next week, so I’m hoping for good weather this week.  I got one bed done today.  While I shoveled dirt, I found a ton of worms, which I gave to Clara to chase after the chickens with and feed to them if they weren’t too scared.  Everyone had a great time.

Seed indoors

Lettuce (February)
Broccoli (February)
Tomatoes (Mid-February)
Artichokes (Mid February)
Cucumber (April)
Summer squash (April)
Pumpkin (April)
Butternut squash (April)
Basil (April)

Seed outdoors

Peas (March)
Garlic (March)
Onions (March)
Carrots (end of March)
Lettuce (April)
Cilantro (April)
Spinach (May)
Beans (end of May)
Basil (end of May)

5 Responses to “Seed sprouting and garden plan!”


  1. 1 Rick February 8, 2010 at 11:36 am

    What time of year do your berries come off? I was thinking of trying the dry-ice method of freezing some—see how it works.

    • 2 mysillylittlelife February 8, 2010 at 2:16 pm

      Blueberries are usually about the middle of July and raspberries any time after the fourth of July and then all the way through August if we’re lucky. You’re welcome to come on over and try it! I am interested to see how it works, too.

  2. 3 Kristen February 9, 2010 at 9:06 am

    Hopefully we will have moved up there by this summer so that we can enjoy your hard work of gardening by eating everything! I am not a gardener by any means.

    • 4 mysillylittlelife February 9, 2010 at 9:26 am

      You’ve just never tried! I can teach you. It will save me a lot of veggies to teach you how to grow your own.

  3. 5 Karen February 9, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Can’t wait to taste, and the worms remind me of you and the slugs in Toledo!!!


Leave a Reply

