Freezer Stockpile

Eight weeks until d-day.  My due date, that is.  The first time around, I was surprised by how little cooking I was able to do.  Babies somehow have an innate ability to know a) when you’re especially tired, b) when you are hungry, and c) when it is dinner time.  It never fails that “the witching hour” is exactly when you need to be cooking.

Thank God my mother stayed with us for a couple of weeks when Clara was born.  While I am hopeful that Nancy will be a calm little girl who only wants to sit on the counter and watch me cook, I am not going to hold my breath.  I will not be caught unaware this time.  Each week for the next eight weeks I am going to double a dinner and freeze it for after the baby is born.  I am looking for suggestions from all of you who read my blog (I know that someone besides my mother, mother-in-law, and sister read this)… yes, that means you.

What are your favorite make and freeze meals?  Please comment and post recipes if possible!

In the next few days I will make a freezer food plan and each week I will update with a photo of the pre-frozen dish all made.  Therefore, you too will have recipes and ideas for your freezer.  Please play this game with me!! 🙂

7 Responses to “Freezer Stockpile”


  1. 1 carrita February 10, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    I think it’s an excellent idea. Tuna noodle stuff is good, also lasagna, meatloaf, and chili freeze well. Good luck!

  2. 2 Becky February 10, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    My new favorite recipe is for black bean soup. http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/black_bean_soup.html Its yummy as is or you can make it more of a dip for chips or on tacos if you boil more of the water out and put it all in the blender.

  3. 3 Kristen February 10, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    I have to say chili rice, the easy tortilla soup that you cook in the crockpot, make hamburger patties ahead of time and freeze them so that all you have to do is cook them, I second the tuna noodle casserole that Carrita said it is yummy! UUUMMM, tons of soups, you could make them in your crockpot even if you aren’t having them for dinner that night. Love you!

  4. 4 Chelsea February 10, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Chicken and Wild Rice with Veggies:

    Pan sear chicken thighs (I like boneless) and set aside. Dice up some carrots, onions, celery and mushrooms of your choice and sautee. Cook a couple cups of a wild rice blend and add to the veggies. Put some rice and veggies on the bottom of your dish, place the chicken on top, cover with more rice. Then I cover everything with mushroom soup-I prefer the boxes from Trader Joe’s. Then bake until the chicken is cooked the rest of the way. Then I let them cool and freeze.

    I have also frozen large pot pies, I have a creamy carrot soup that I make for the birth center a lot, Chris suggests cooking a pot roast and freezing it. And of course enchiladas are my go to freezer meal. But you can mix that up with chicken, beef, and veggie. I was recently given a recipe for sweet potato and black bean enchiladas that sounds really good, but I haven’t tried them yet. If you want that recipe though, I’d be happy to pass it along! Good luck!!

    • 5 mysillylittlelife February 11, 2010 at 2:46 pm

      I have never found mushroom soup at Trader Joe’s. Is it new? I’m trying not to use canned stuff because of BPA anymore, so it would be great to find it boxed. Enchiladas are definitely going on the list, too!

  5. 6 Karen February 11, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Oh boy does that mean I don’t have to cook? Just kidding, stew, ham and beans, spaghetti, the hamburger patties are a great idea. Of course chile anyway, taco meat also only have to chop some veggies then. I have never gotten the tuna noodle recipe from you or your sister, but I’ll keep asking. Oh sutffed bell peppers are also great for the freezer. Any soups, oh yeah and KEY LIME PIE, Kristen ate a hole one the day before she delivered!! I’ll make one for you, And frozen pizzas for Adam!!!

  6. 7 Chelsea March 2, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Hey Danette,
    I don’t know if it is new, but I bought it last time I was there. It is in a box, which I love too. I have seen other boxed mushroom soups, but the trader joe’s brand is definitely the cheapest.


Leave a Reply

