Freezer Stockpile Calendar!

Thank you to everyone who posted their ideas!  I forgot to mention two little constraints that I had in making this list.  The first is that I have a husband (who I adore, mind you) who is very opinionated about the dinner menu in this house.  So, if it didn’t make the cut, it’s because one or the other of us has vetoed it.  For instance, I would fill the freezer all with beef stew, but neither Adam nor Clara would go for it.  So, it’s automatically vetoed.

The other restraint that I have imposed upon myself is that I really do not want to use canned goods in my meals.  Cans (meaning the aluminum things you have to open with a can opener) in the U.S. contain BPA.  I won’t bore you too much with my soapbox about why we shouldn’t eat things that are stored in BPA, but I will give you one little paragraph from the December 2009 article “Concern over canned foods” from Consumer Reports:

“A 165-pound adult eating one serving of canned green beans from our sample, which averaged 123.5 ppb, could ingest about 0.2 micrograms of BPA per kilogram of body weight per day, about 80 times higher than our experts’ recommended daily upper limit.  And children eating multiple servings of canned foods with BPA levels comparable the ones we found in some tested products could get a dose of BPA approaching levels that have caused adverse effects in several animal studies (p. 55).”

So, for that reason, recipes with canned goods are out, but if I can find an easy enough suitable substitute I will do that.  For instance, I don’t mind too much cooking my own dried beans and freezing them to get away from using canned beans.  Nor do I mind making my own broth, both of which are on my freezer plan below.  The only things that I have a hard time giving up are enchilada sauce (which for some reason you cannot buy in a jar!) and coconut milk.  If anyone has sources for these things that are not canned, please share the secret!  It would make me ecstatic!

Without further ado, here is the freezer stockpile calendar!  I will try to post the recipe and how it went on the day listed.  Which means I have until that day to make it, freeze it, and blog it.  You guys are going to help keep me on track and motivated, right?  So check back in for any recipe that looks interesting to you and I will give you the full report.  Enchiladas coming right up!

Freezer Stockpile Calendar~

2/13~ Crockpot beans to stock the freezer and Bean, rice, and cheese enchiladas, plus extra bean and rice mix to make burritos with for lunches and/or a dinner

2/20~ Taco Mac

2/27~  Roasted chicken and crockpot chicken broth to stock the freezer and Chicken and Brown Rice Soup

3/6~  Beef Stroganoff

3/13~  Zesty slow cooker chicken (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Zesty-Slow-Cooker-Chicken-Barbecue/Detail.aspx)

3/20~ V-8 Chili

9 Responses to “Freezer Stockpile Calendar!”


  1. 1 Andy February 12, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    Well I love BPA, so feel free to let me help you deplete any stocks of canned food goodies you have in the house when I come at the end of February.

    • 2 mysillylittlelife February 12, 2010 at 8:23 pm

      Okay… only canned goods for you when you are here. Not sure what kinds of things you’ll find. Maybe a can of tuna that’s lost in the back of the pantry. Probably some old canned cat food from Spinx… That should help keep you on your diet while you’re here next time!

  2. 3 Kristen February 12, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    TACO MAC!!!! That sounds delicious!! You will have to let me know how that goes, have you had it before?

    • 4 mysillylittlelife February 12, 2010 at 8:22 pm

      No, I haven’t made it before, but how could it go wrong, right!? I’ll be posting all the recipes and how they turn out, so you’ll know for sure if its good!

  3. 5 Rick February 13, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Buy coconuts. Use the milk. Then put the lime in da coconut (with vodka) drink it all down.

  4. 7 Karen February 13, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    What about making the extra pizzas for Adam? You make the best pizza dough. I want the tuna noodle cassarole recipe.


Leave a Reply

