Freezer Stockpile: Black bean, rice and cheese enchiladas

Photobucket
Photobucket
Here is my first freezer stockpile recipe! It’s a pretty easy, but I still feel like I was cooking all day due to the fact that I had to make beans and rice, too. But, once those two things were finished, putting together the enchiladas only took about half an hour. We ate one pan for dinner and I froze two other pans and a bag of beans and rice for future burritos! Woo hoo! Below are the recipes for enchiladas, black bean, and spanish rice.

Black Bean, Rice, and Cheese Enchiladas

1 recipe black beans

1 recipe spanish rice

1 large can green enchilada sauce (I’m going to follow a lead on jarred enchilada sauce soon… I will update if its true!)

20 large tortillas

2 lbs. cheddar cheese, grated (I grated in the food processor… to only took about three minutes!)
Photobucket
1. Spray three 8×11 inch pans with pan spray. Spread about half a cup of enchilada sauce in the bottom of each pan.

2.  Place a tortilla in the pan, then fill with about a half cup beans, half cup rice, and a quarter cup cheese.

3.  Roll up the tortillas and continue until there are about six in each pan.

4.  Divide remaining sauce among the three pans and spread it across each rolled tortilla.  Sprinkle with cheese.

5.  Freeze.  When ready to cook, defrost and bake at 350 degrees until bubbly and hot, about 30 minutes.

6.  Any left over rice and beans can make great burritos, too!!

Photobucket
Black Beans

1 pound black beans, washed and picked over for stones

2 quarts water

1 medium onion, chopped

4 large garlic cloves, minced

1/4 cup chopped cilantro, plus additional for garnish if desired

Salt, preferably kosher salt, to taste

1. Soak the beans in the water for at least six hours. If they will be soaking for a long time in warm weather, put them in the refrigerator.

2. In a dutch oven*, add the onion, half the garlic, drained beans, and enough water to cover by about one inch. Add more water later if necessary (different brands of beans soak up more or less water).  Bring to a boil and then simmer on low for one hour.

3. Add the salt, remaining garlic and cilantro. Continue to simmer another hour, until the beans are quite soft.  Take the lid off to thicken up the broth for the last half hour to hour if you would like.  Taste. Is there enough salt? Does it need more garlic? Add if necessary. Let sit overnight in the refrigerator for the best flavor or freeze immediately.  Freeze in 2 cup portions for up to three months with a bit of the broth.

*Can also be made in the crockpot.  Simmer on low for 5-8 hours, or until beans are soft.

Photobucket

Spanish Rice

2 1/2 cups salsa (from a jar!)

3 1/2 cups water

3 cups brown rice

1.  Bring salsa and water to a boil.

2.  Add rice and stir.  Simmer on low for 40 minutes.

10 Responses to “Freezer Stockpile: Black bean, rice and cheese enchiladas”


  1. 1 Kristen February 14, 2010 at 9:13 am

    That is a HUGE glop of sour cream!! They look good though. Mom and I looked for enchilada sauce at Trader Joes when she was here and we didn’t see any at our store, so good luck!

  2. 3 Rick February 14, 2010 at 11:24 am

    CANNED enchilada sauce?????? I hope you don’t think I’ll eat that poison.

    • 4 mysillylittlelife February 14, 2010 at 12:48 pm

      I know. I’m looking for a solution. If you find any jarred enchilada sauce over there, I expect you to put it in your suitcase and bring it back for me!

  3. 5 Karen February 14, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    If we get over to Mono foods in Paia I will check for jarred enchilada sauce, if anybody has it they will. but could break in the suitcase. Your refried black beans would be good in enchiladas too.

  4. 6 Kristen February 15, 2010 at 8:37 am

    When you are making all of these wonderful meals, don’t forget that Clara didn’t like it when you ate dairy food . . . . . It seems as though all of your recipes have cheese in them, I only mention this because I am off dairy for Chloe right now and oooohhhh how I miss my milk and cheese!

    • 7 mysillylittlelife February 15, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Well, the chili and the chicken are in the clear… maybe I’ll make something other than Auntie’s Noodle casserole (since it has cream of mushroom soup, anyway) and then we’ll eat the cheesy things first before I have to go dairy free.

    • 8 mysillylittlelife February 15, 2010 at 9:21 am

      Well, I’ll eat the dairy stuff first. Maybe I’ll make something other than Auntie’s noodle casserole since it has cream of mushroom soup anyway. What could I replace the lasagna with? The stroganoff has sour cream, but not too much… Maybe I’ll just add the sour cream to Adam’s portion after I warm it up.

  5. 9 Rick February 15, 2010 at 11:50 am

    I just noticed that pretty soon you’ll have to change your blog title—Cultivating an urban garden and growing a toddler—that’s not going to work much longer.


Leave a Reply

