Spring Flowers

About a week ago, Clara was playing in the front yard with Daddy and I.  I went inside to get some water and when I got back, there was a lovely pile of daffodil blossoms that were just about to open stacked on the front steps.  Completely detached from their stems.  I almost cried!  Not only am I crazily emotional right now, but I had so been looking forward to daffodils in just a few days.  I thought that Clara had gotten them all, but, HOORAY, a few survived.  I took pictures to commemorate how monumental this is.
Photobucket
Photobucket
In the spirit of joy that is daffodils, I decided that we needed to make a spring flower craft. Clara wanted yellow, orange, and white flowers, so those are the paint colors that we used. The only other things that we needed were some flower cookie cutters and construction paper. Oh, and I used a little green paint to make stems for the flowers.
Photobucket
Clara dipped the cookie cutters in the paint, them stamped flowers onto the paper. She really liked stamping the same spot over and over for some reason.
Photobucket
Here’s the finished product in action, dancing around the living room!
Photobucket

9 Responses to “Spring Flowers”


  1. 1 Kristen March 2, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    I see Clara is wearing the painting vest that Mom made her and the valentine shirt that Mom got her! I think that I could even do the flower art with cookie cutter, Drew might even like it since he doesn’t have to get dirty! Maybe we will try it today since it is pouring down rain here. . . . 😦

  2. 2 Kristen March 2, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Oh by the way, her hair is really long and flowing now!

  3. 4 Michele March 2, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    What a great idea! I might do a variation of this on Friday!

  4. 5 Karen March 3, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    I love the pictures and the art, Clara is so intent on the painting!!

  5. 6 carrita March 5, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    How do you know Adam didn’t pick them?

    • 7 mysillylittlelife March 5, 2010 at 7:40 pm

      I think that Adam would have had the sense to pick them with the stems attached, put them in a vase, and romantically present them to me. These were just buds piled on the steps.

  6. 9 Liza March 8, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Great idea! We’re gonna try this!


Leave a Reply

