Freezer Stockpile: Beef Stroganoff

I know, I know… this blog is late.  But, we had too much fun yesterday in the sun.  We went to a fly-in breakfast at a little airport in Hillsboro, played in the backyard, and I had a lovely time with some friends last night.  So, its late.  Today I’ve been cleaning and I was just exhausted.  The end of this pregnancy is starting to kick my butt, but at least its days are numbered.  To make up for it, here is a snapshot of the fun for you.
Photobucket

Anyway, I have had this meal done for days and I just haven’t posted it. Ah, well. I made beef stroganoff without any canned cream of mushroom soup. I actually think I liked it better, if you can imagine it! It wasn’t quite as thick as I would have liked, but Adam likes things saucy, so I think he liked it just fine. The meat was so tender and really this was a totally easy dinner. It will be even easier when I can just take it out of the freezer, plop it in a sauce pan, and heat it up. This made three meals for us (which is good since I spent almost $10 on the meat). I adapted from this recipe.

Beef Stoganoff

Dump into your crock pot:

2-3 pounds stew meat
1 tsp. salt
dash of pepper
1 onion, sliced
1 tsp. garlic salt
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
2 cups homemade chicken stock (mine was still frozen… it didn’t matter at all)
1 tablespoon ketchup

Cook in crockpot on low for 7-8 hours or high for 4-5 hours.
Photobucket
1/3 cup flour
A bit of cold water
8 oz. chopped mushrooms

When cooked, make a simple roux by whisking flour with enough water (about 5-6 tablespoons) to make a thick but still pourable flour mixture. Whisk the roux into the crockpot and add 4 ounces sliced mushrooms.
Photobucket
1/2 cup sour cream
Cooked pasta

Cook on high for 15-30 minutes. Then stir in sour cream. Serve over pasta.
Photobucket

9 Responses to “Freezer Stockpile: Beef Stroganoff”


  1. 1 Kristen March 7, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    That seems like WAY to much work, but it looks yummy! Who would think that stew meat is so expensive?

    • 2 mysillylittlelife March 8, 2010 at 8:02 am

      Actually, I thought it was way easier than mom’s recipe. At least at dinner time. I will wait to get stew meat on sale next time, though…

  2. 3 carrita March 8, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Did Clara like it. I’ll bet she ate everything but the meat.

  3. 5 Rick March 10, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Fly-in breakfast? Did you actually go in an airplane?

    You know, we try to not buy stew meat. Usually you can get petite sirloin or another lean cut on sale that is cheaper.

    • 6 mysillylittlelife March 10, 2010 at 3:16 pm

      We drove in, but Adam has big plans to fly-in some day. We didn’t actually go in an airplane, but looked at all the planes and watched them land and take off. Clara loved it! They have a swing set on a hill above the run way. Her favorite part was just swinging and watching all the airplanes. And the pancakes. They were a huge hit. Maybe next time you’re in town we could go. Lots of fun experimental airplanes. The breakfast is the first Saturday of every month.

      I looked at cheaper cuts of meat (like roasts), but nothing looked that much cheaper. Apparently beef was not on sale much at Winco last week. But, now I know and if I see it, I will stock up or if I see cheaper cuts on sale, buy them. I just wasn’t planning ahead like I should have been. I still got three meals out of it, so it was way cheaper than eating out.

  4. 7 Rick March 10, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    Well, Adam should look into getting his pilots license. He will learn very very much and enjoy it at the same time.

  5. 8 Karen March 11, 2010 at 11:54 am

    I still like my stroganoff and you can use the packet cream of mushroom soup. The lipton or that other brand.
    Love the pic of my big girl though


Leave a Reply

