Freezer Stockpile: V-8 Chili

This is going to be my last freezer stockpile recipe.  Not because I’m not enjoying it, but because my freezer is getting rather full, my due date is fast (although not fast enough…) approaching, and I have actually quite a few people who have asked if they can bring me food, too.  So, I think we’re set.

This is my favorite chili recipe.  It is BPA free, yummy in vegetarian style or bastardized with meat, and has a ton of veggies in it, which is great if your kid will eat it.  Clara eats it about half the time.  She used to love it, but now she thinks she doesn’t like chili anymore.  No problem, though.  She ate almost all of the different veggies and beans as I was making it.

V-8 Chili (adapted from a Cooking Light recipe)
3/4 lb. ground beef
1 onion
2-3 cloves garlic
2 red bell peppers
2-3 tomatoes
2 zucchini
1/2 -1 jalapeno
2 cups homemade black beans
2 cups homemade kidney beans
1 can of V-8, any variety (spicy, plain, low sodium, etc.)
Salt and pepper
2 T. cumin (more if you’re a Bassler)
2 T. chili powder
1/2 cup chopped cilantro

1) Chop all of your veggies while the ground beef browns in your dutch oven. If you would like to make this vegetarian, omit this step and add some olive oil. Make sure your toddler sou chef tastes all the veggies as you chop.
Photobucket
2) Add the veggies and cook for about five minutes, or until they begin to soften up. Add beans and the secret ingredient, the V-8. It won’t look like there is enough juice, but just you wait!
Photobucket

3) Add your spices and bring to a boil, then cover and turn down to a simmer for about an hour. Stir every once in a while. This will get very juicy. You might like that. I like my chili to be a little bit thicker, so I pulled off the lid for about the last 15 minutes and it thickened right up. Stir in the cilantro at the last minute. Serve with or without cheese and chips, on nachos, on loaded baked potatoes, or any other way you like to eat chili! This made about three meals worth of chili for us.
Photobucket

6 Responses to “Freezer Stockpile: V-8 Chili”


  1. 1 Rick March 18, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Canned V8 but still OK, you got splainin to do.
    “Bastardized” ???

    • 2 mysillylittlelife March 18, 2010 at 9:53 pm

      Soda type cans do not have BPA liners in them. Only the kind that you have to open with a can opener. So, V-8 is totally okay.

      Bastardized because this was originally a vegan recipe.

  2. 4 Kristen March 19, 2010 at 8:15 am

    That looks yummy! I will have to try all of these recipes at some point. Maybe when my kids dont need constant attention at dinner making time. . . .

  3. 5 Becky March 19, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    I just figured out what cumin is a few months ago. I don’t think we ever had it in my house when I was growing up. I think it’s now one of my favorite spices!

    • 6 mysillylittlelife March 19, 2010 at 2:37 pm

      We buy it unground by the pound and grind it ourselves in a coffee grind. It is our favorite spice, for sure!


Leave a Reply

