Iris Collage

Photobucket

We had no idea what Nancy’s middle name was going to be when she was born.  Adam and I debated about it for months and then finally it came down to a random name generator that we found via Google in the middle of the night at the hospital.  We just kept pushing the button until we found something we both liked: Iris.   We have gotten nothing but good feedback  on this middle name and even quite a bit of glowing feedback, I would say.  Some of our friends even generously bought us a gift certificate to a local Iris Garden.  I ordered my iris to plant in the back yard in between our rose bushes this week.  I can’t wait for them to come!!  The gift certificate came with a beautiful catalog, which I couldn’t let go to waste, so, Clara and I collaged… with added watercolor paint.  Those are Clara’s current two favorite art mediums.

First we picked which flowers to cut out,  The first collage was all yellow iris, Clara’s favorite color.
Photobucket

Then we glued!
Photobucket

Then we painted!
Photobucket

Then, when they were dry, we put both collages in envelopes and mailed them to the grandmas. Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Iris Collage”


  1. 1 Kristen May 12, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    What about favorite Auntie? I guess that she can make me something to hang on my new fridge when I move up there!

  2. 2 Rick May 12, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    Hey, I’m looking at that right now on the kitchen counter. It arrived today.

  3. 3 Karen May 12, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Thank you I will call Clara and thank her personally, also love the new art on the wall. Did Lisa give you the gift certificate?


Leave a Reply

