Bubbles!!

One of my favorite blogs to read is The Grocery Cart Challenge. She makes at home all kinds of things that we buy all the time in the store.  I love her stain remover recipe (it totally works great on baby poop!) and this week I decided to try out her bubble solution recipe. It was really easy, took maybe five minutes, total, and makes great big bubbles!  Here’s all you need.  By the way, if you like the huge measuring bowl shown below (it comes with a lid, too!) I’ll set you up with my Pampered Chef provider, Erin to get your very own (less than $10)!
Photobucket
Here’s the recipe via her blog:

Homemade Bubbles
6 C. water

1 C. corn syrup

2 C. dishwashing liquid
In a large bowl stir water and corn syrup until combined. Add dishwashing liquid and stir very gently until well mixed. (Try not to make any bubbles.) Dip (don’t stir) bubble wands into bubble liquid and blow bubbles.
Photobucket
I spilled some before I remembered that I own a funnel, and it still made two pints and six little bubble containers of four ounces each.

Clara loved blowing all sorts of bubbles outside in the sun!   The solution works a bit better with the bit bubble wands that you wave around (I got ours in the $1 bins at Target), but they also work with the little wands that you blow.  I do reccomend these be only an outside activity as the corn syrup seems to be a bit sticky when the bubbles land. It makes me think that maybe summer will be here soon!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

4 Responses to “Bubbles!!”


  1. 1 Kristen May 16, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    I hope that is not high fructose corn syrup! What is Clara’s first face???? She is sooo funny

    • 2 mysillylittlelife May 17, 2010 at 1:05 pm

      Not high fructose, just left over corn syrup from pecan pies. Besides, we don’t eat the bubbles!

  2. 3 carrita d foster May 17, 2010 at 9:56 am

    I love the pics of the girl. She’s soo cute. And I love hear her singing ‘the froggy sings tonight’.

  3. 4 Rick May 17, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Maybe high fructose corn syrup will make the bubbles go high in the sky.


Leave a Reply

