Learning Numbers

Photobucket
After Clara and I made her birthday countdown calendar, I realized that she does not know any numbers yet.  Yes, she knows how to count, but she does not know the numerals at all.  I decided that that should be fixed.  She does, after all, know almost all of the letters.  So, I made a  “matching” game similar to this one at Pink and Green Mama’s blog. We match the numbers on the stones (one bag from Dollar Tree was enough for the entire alphabet and the numbers 1-10.  I bought  two bags just in case and the second bag will be showing up in a later post!) and discuss which numbers they are.  Then we count the groups of stickers and place the correct number stone on the group.  This is a work in progress, but I feel like her future teachers (especially in the math area) may appreciate this.  I’ve been focusing on letters and reading and ignoring math.  I guess that’s just what happens when you’re an English teacher.  But I’m trying to be better.
Photobucket

5 Responses to “Learning Numbers”


  1. 1 Karen June 19, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Great job, where did you find the number stickers? I remember when you bought the stones.

  2. 2 Rick June 20, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Well, at least you didn’t steal anything from me (like dobbers.
    Right????

  3. 4 Kristen June 20, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Your Dollar Tree has way better stuff than the one in Cali, I guess that is just reason 845,329 to move to Oregon!


Leave a Reply

