Mama made present

Clara turned three yesterday!!  I wanted to make something for her for her birthday this year.  I think I’m going to *try* to do that for both girls every year.  We’ll see how that goes.  I am in love with these fairy houses and especially these (really, click on the links because they are so cool!).  So I decided to make my own during Clara’s nap and give it to her for her birthday.

I bought a little birdhouse that I thought was a good fit at Michaels for about five dollars along with some acrylic paint and sealer.  I also bought three little fairy figures from Disney’s Tinkerbell movie from Toys ‘R’ Us on clearance. Then I got to work.  It took me about two weeks since my naps are generally filled with cleaning and Nancy sometimes decides not to nap at the same time as Clara.  I painted, sealed, and then during an evening after bedtime, I hot glue gunned.  I only burnt myself once.

When I finished, I set it up outside like this:
Photobucket

Then I took Clara outside, telling her that fairies had moved into the backyard in celebration of her birthday. It was really sweet. She was SO excited. But then she decided that she couldn’t reach the fairy house well enough to play with the fairies, so she moved it here:
Photobucket

Then she got down to business pretending a life for all her fairy friends. That is Clara’s thing. She loves to make up stories and have her fairies, animals, stuffies, dinosaurs, etc. act it all out. Now she can do it outside, too. And I will be able to hang up laundry and weed in relative peace for a few minutes.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

1 Response to “Mama made present”


  1. 1 Karen June 27, 2010 at 7:32 am

    That came out really good, so cute, good job Mom, Clara is going to want to be outside all the time now,will it with stand the rain? Hooray for good fairies.


Leave a Reply

