Outdoor time: fishing!

Photobucket

I have always loved summer the best. Winter I am happiest when just sitting next to a wood stove reading. Fall just stinks because of all the leaves to rake, though I do love pumpkin. Spring is just a crazy monstrosity of indecisiveness makes me feel out of sorts. But summer. Ahhh, summer. I love it. Especially August. And not just because I’m an August baby, but because I truly love the weather, the freedom, and time outside everyday.

I was reading a couple of weeks ago about all of the wonderful benefits that simply playing outdoors can have for kids. Kids today get an average of four to seven minutes of unstructured outdoor play a day. That’s minutes, mind you. There are no video games eating up my kids’ time, but we do watch about an hour of TV a day, and I am loath to play outside in the rain and cold. I have made it my mission this month however, to start a series of outdoor play blogs. It is my hope that I can incorporate at least an hour of outdoor play time into my day for the kids EVERY day. Rain or shine. Year round. Not only do I think that this will be good for my kids, but it will also be good for me. I’ll get more exercise, feel less seasonally affected, and hopefully be a more rounded, albeit muddy, momma. So, this month our blogs will feature exclusively outdoor activities. First up, fishing!

Did you know that in Oregon, kids under 12 fish free? Its true! And you can help your kids fish as long as you are not fishing yourself! I always loved fishing when I was a kid. My dad remembers it as time spent untangling lines, but I clearly remember fishing off our boat and scooping a struggling, wet, slimy trout out of the water in a green net. I also remember that I never had a problem putting a worm on my hook, but my little sister always had daddy do it for her. But I digress. I bought Clara a kiddie, princess fishing pole for $10 at Fred Meyer and we finally had an opportunity to use it this past week at Lake Billy Chinook on vacation. We fished off the beach using extra hot dogs cut into little bits.

Photobucket

Photobucket

This was a good lesson in patience, although momma is such a good fisher-person that within thirty minutes we had caught and released three small-mouth bass. The last one unfortunately swallowed the hook and I had to cut the line. After that Clara got bored with fixing it with a new hook and ran off to swim, also a great outdoor activity. We will definitely be fishing again soon!

5 Responses to “Outdoor time: fishing!”


  1. 1 Rick August 2, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    So, it’s MY memory that’s incorrect???

    That outdoor play time does not have to include a parent and would probably be better without one.

  2. 2 Kristen August 2, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    We fished too, but all Drew wanted to do was cast it out and reel it in a bunch of times. We all “played outside today for over an hour while I cleaned the garage and put stuff away.

  3. 3 Karen August 2, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    You and your Sister must have enjoyed the week at the lake cause the kids were out on the beach and lake for 5 hours a day, and when we went up top -Hello dinner out side too. Even baths were outside in the shower house door open. That’s what I remember, is you two playing all day at least 2 days a week all summer. Nothing better, and your kids prove it, it will only get more fun as they grow older. I love that you both love the outdoors, cause we do too! It is important, I feel in a well rounded child.

  4. 4 Raya August 4, 2010 at 8:58 am

    Elliot loves finishing too!

    Every time we go camping we try to fish but so far we haven’t had much luck. Scott took Elliot to a trout farm past Sandy and they brought a few fish home!

  5. 5 Children's Outdoor Toys March 25, 2011 at 3:45 am

    Wow Great blog !

    The pics in this blog are really very very sweet !!


Leave a Reply

