Gardening Update

Sorry for the lack of gardening blogs this summer.  I have not been inspired as this has been a rather… ahem… crappy gardening year.  As of right now, the only things that are doing well in my garden are the carrots.  Better them than nothing, though.  Oh, and the blueberries.  They have been bonkers.  Not sure if that’s because we finally learned how to prune them correctly or because of the cold, wet spring, but we have a bumper crop.  Clara and Daddy go out every evening and collect some to share and we have three gallon bags full in the freezer.
Photobucket
My lettuce was doing well, but then I left for a week and the sprinkler got shut off, so it all bolted. I’m going to pull it all out this weekend as well as my aphid covered broccoli which got no where and start all of my fall crops (new lettuce, broccoli, Brussel sprouts, and maybe red onions). Garlic will go in later. I’m still hopeful about my winter squash and tomatoes, but I don’t think my fifteen tomato plants are going to produce enough for even one batch of sauce. That being said, I’m going to the farmer’s market soon for tomatoes to possibly make this beautiful golden tomato sauce.

My soybeans are finally blooming, so we’ll see what happens there. I do have crazy nasturtiums and poppies if anyone wants seeds from those, they are aplenty! Our irises also came and we planted them all over the yard. I can’t wait to see all of their many-colored splendor in the spring!

Also on the plus side, I’m still getting eggs (although the heat zapped those up last week for a bit) and Clara has learned how to pick up the chickens and carry them around. They are not fond of it, but are not pecking at her and allow it. Clara rules the roost– in many ways, come to think of it!
Photobucket

That is all. If I get much of a harvest, I’ll take pictures and post them. Hopefully all my work was not completely in vain!

6 Responses to “Gardening Update”


  1. 1 Kristen August 20, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Well, I was thinking that I may have to try brussel sprouts this year and see if I like them. I hear that roasting them is the way to go, so if you get some of those let me know! Watch out chickens, watch out!

  2. 2 Karen August 21, 2010 at 7:57 am

    You didn’t tell me you planted alot of Iris’s, only the ones that were a gift. I love Iris’s. you have been a little busy with other things besides the garden Mom. So far I have one almost ripe tomato, and 20 or so green ones. So may not get many by Sept. DARN

  3. 4 Rick August 21, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I told Karen not to do tomatoes over here, it’s a waste of time. I’ve tried for years and only occasionaly got some ripe ones before frost hit. Come to think of it, Karen didn’t do the tomatos, you started them, I planted, feritziled and watered them, all she did was WHINE about how they had to be done because they were Kula Daves.
    Next year I’m having nothing to do with them.

  4. 6 carrita September 5, 2010 at 11:18 am

    That is the cutest picture of clara


Leave a Reply

