Halloween Stained Glass… Preschool Style!

Photobucket
I have been seeing projects like this all over the web the last couple of weeks and knowing that I wanted to do something Halloweenish, I decided that this would be fun.  So, after perusing this blog, this blog, this blog, and this blog, I finally got down to business with this easy, although somewhat mommy-centric craft.

While Dinosaur Train was on, I cut two sets of templates, a bat and a pumpkin out of black paper, then put sticky, clear contact paper on one side.  I also cut up a bunch of colored tissue paper.
Photobucket
Photobucket

Then when my nephew Drew came over, I invited the kids to come do some art! They stuck pieces of tissue on the sticky contact paper. I asked them to cover the whole surface. Drew thought that was too messy and asked for my help, but Clara thought it was great and even did it one piece at a time rather than by the handful as she has done other times (like with these).
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Then Mommy cut off the excess tissue and contact paper and we put them on the window! Sorry about all of the glare in the pictures. It was the wrong time of day to photograph them, but it hasn’t been sunny since!
Photobucket

6 Responses to “Halloween Stained Glass… Preschool Style!”


  1. 1 ana @ i made it so October 24, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    so fun! i really like this idea 🙂

  2. 2 Rick October 24, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Stained glass???? That’s nothing compared to the stained glass I got when Drew, Chloe and Ella were over here a couple of weeks ago. All the hand prints and rubbed in slobber on our sliding glass door took alot of work to clean off. And I didn’t even have to organize it!

  3. 3 Karen October 24, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Kuddos to Mom and the kids= great job and alot of planning for a Mom of 2 busy kids.

  4. 4 Sarah October 27, 2010 at 9:37 am

    I love how every time I read a blog, I see something being reused. There was a strawberry box with crayons in it and this craft with many around the house items. Great job! I love this blog 🙂

    • 5 mysillylittlelife October 31, 2010 at 8:05 pm

      Thanks! I just can’t stand to throw out anything that might corral all of the *stuff* that comes with childhood. I’m glad you enjoy the blog!

  5. 6 carrita October 29, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    You never cease to amaze me!


Leave a Reply

