Bat Cookies!

Photobucket
I am the playdough parent for Clara’s preschool classroom this year, and this past couple of weeks, black playdough for Halloween has been requested.  I am not a huge fan of the black playdough, myself.  It’s hard to make, I always think its burning, and it’s just… ewww!  But, I have a whole bottle of black food coloring at home now.  Who knew such a thing existed, anyway?!  So, I had to come up with something to use it on!  Hence, bat cookies!

Clara and I made up a batch of sugar cookie dough using this recipe from Epicurious.  We rolled out the dough (with my new rolling-pin that I got for Adam and I’s tenth wedding anniversary!), cut out bats with our cookie cutter, baked, and let them cool until Clara’s friend Oliver could make it over to decorate.
Photobucket
Photobucket
I was surprised that neither kid ate the frosting off the spoon nor ate the M&Ms out of the bowl.  They both treated this like an art project until they were all done.  Then they got to eat them!  Love the black mouths!  They were really yummy cookies despite the black frosting and were really cute and easy to decorate!  Happy Halloween!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

4 Responses to “Bat Cookies!”


  1. 1 Kristen October 25, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    UUUUUMMMM, I think that I need to taste test these cookie art projects of yours!

  2. 2 carrita October 25, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Soooo cute!

  3. 3 Karen October 25, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Love it, even Oliver’s apron!!! Good job Clara and Oliver, and Mom great idea AGAIN

  4. 4 Rick October 25, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Holy Bat-cookie Batman!!!! Quick to the Batmobile, we need alot of Bat-napkins!!!


Leave a Reply

