Its still dark here…

Photobucket
Today is especially dark.  Its cloudy, its rainy, its January.  Blah.  I don’t mind the dark nearly as much in the run up to Christmas and the solstice as I’m busy, there’s much to look forward to, and well, friends and family abound.  But in January I loathe the dark.  Its dark when I wake up (and recently that has been at 5:00 am, which means it is dark for the first two and a half hours of my day!), its dark when I make dinner, and in between its either cloudy, rainy, cold, or all three.  So, I am thinking of ways to add some light to my life.  We really enjoyed the autumn leaf candle holders that we made in the fall, so I thought that maybe some bright and sunny something similar would help.  Hence, these sunny yellow candle holders.  We actually gave these away to our friends Lisa and Marc, but some are going to show up on my dining room table soon.
Photobucket

Gather some fun material, a few jars from the recycling bin, a glue stick, and some tea candles. Cut the material to fit around the jars and glue with the glue stick. Have your helper add a tea candle to each and light them up!
Photobucket

Photobucket

7 Responses to “Its still dark here…”


  1. 1 carrita January 13, 2011 at 11:56 am

    Beautiful and they are yellow!

  2. 2 Sarah January 13, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    Such a cute idea! I’ve been using permanent markers (not for the little ones) all over stuff lately. Especially what I get to re-use from the rubbish!!

  3. 3 Bob January 13, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    I have a partial solution to the dark day issue–move back to Central Oregon. Earlier it was raining but now it’s brilliantly sunny. And think how often Clara and Nancy would get to see their grandparents!

  4. 4 Rick January 13, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    We’ll get you some light and warmth starting the first wednesday in March. Seven weeks, can you handle it.

  5. 5 Karen January 13, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    What the heck, move to Maui! The candles are great, but I like my Christmas candle better!

  6. 6 Kristen January 13, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    Rub it in Mom that you got the Christmas candle and I didn’t!


Leave a Reply

