Wet chalk drawing

Photobucket
Sometimes you just need a project that a kid can do on their own while you do dishes, answer a phone call, fold laundry, mop the kitchen floor, sit around and eat chocolate.  You know, so you can have a few precious moments to yourself.  This is one of my go-to projects.
Photobucket

In the summer it is a great project for the front or back porch.  In the winter, I tape down a piece of butcher paper or a brown paper bag and let Clara go for it.  Then I get out our bucket of chalk and either a bowl or small bucket of water.  Chalk is fun because the way that it draws when it is dry is completely different from the way it draws when it is wet.  Same with the surface that you are writing on.  So, experimentation is in order.  And Clara loves this experiment over and over and over.  When everything is done, just wipe it up with a wash rag, change the shirt and throw it in the laundry if necessary, and everything will wash right out.  It is chalk, after all.
Photobucket

4 Responses to “Wet chalk drawing”


  1. 1 Rick January 20, 2011 at 11:27 am

    I see red, I see blue. I thought her favorite color was yellow.

  2. 2 Karen January 20, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    Yellow has already been experimented on!

  3. 3 carrita January 21, 2011 at 10:01 am

    She looks so focused!

  4. 4 Pam Carr/Sunshine January 23, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    Love this idea, I will use it at school with my class. Thanks so much. I will tell my daughter about this too.


Leave a Reply

