Play Dough Recipe

Photobucket

I was asked what my recipe for play dough is and I have to admit, that my favorite recipe is the one that I made every other week all school year long for our awesome preschool.  The thing that makes this recipe great is the cream of tartar, which keeps it pliable and moist longer.  I buy it in the bulk section at Winco, where it is super cheap (don’t buy the small little bottles in the spice section– that’s a racket!).  I have had play dough, with normal family use, last for over six months just in a Ziplock bag.

2 C. flour

2 C. water

1 C. salt

1/4 C. vegetable oil

4 t. cream of tartar

Food coloring

Mix all the ingredients together in a pot.  Add the food coloring to the desired color before cooking.  Cook at medium heat, stirring frequently and scraping the bottom as you go.  When it is ready it will ball up and will no longer be sticky to the touch.  Turn out onto a surface and knead until pliable.  Let cool and store in an air tight container.

P.S.  The picture has nothing to do with  play dough, I know, but I just loved it. 😉

5 Responses to “Play Dough Recipe”


  1. 1 carrita June 29, 2011 at 9:50 am

    You are the BEST!

  2. 2 Karen June 29, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Thank goodness I never had time to make you play dough, but all the kids love it, sorry you missed out on this, my amazing one!!!!!!

  3. 3 sarah August 30, 2011 at 10:00 am

    We’re making this right now!!
    Thank you for sharing your awesome play dough recipe:)

  4. 5 Becky December 23, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    I just made a half batch each of red and green to include with Tatiyana and Henry’s Christmas gift. I added in some peppermint to make it smell like candy canes. 🙂


Leave a Reply

