Summer Art Play Date #5

Hello everyone, and welcome to summer in the Pacific Northwest!  Its finally here!  To kick off our actual hot weather art projects, we did art involving ice for our play date this week.  In case you missed them, this is our fifth art playdate of the summer and if you would like to see all of the others, check out this link.  Besides our two art projects this week, we also had a bonus ice water table with regular ice cubes and rainbow colored ice cubes (which melted into a lovely dirty brown water).  As usual, we also had a play dough table.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Popsicle Painting
I have seen this project everywhere, it seems around the web, but I followed the directions from Disney Family Fun magazine (I love this publication!). The only modification that I made was that I used about a tablespoon of regular tempera paint, not dry. It turned out fine, not too watery at all. Clara helped me make the popcicles the night before and we let them freeze. Then we pulled them out during the playdate and painted big sheets of paper with them. They were much better for painting about twenty minutes after they came out of the fridge.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Ice Cube Slide Painting

This project idea I got from this blog. We have a giant ramp in our backyard that enables us to get our lawn mower up and down from the backyard. Normally, the kids are not allowed to play on it because it is a) slippery in the rain (which is pretty much year round) and b) too hard for the babies toddlers to navigate. But, for art, we embraced it. I made more tempera ice cubes just in trays, put out more big paper, and we slide the cubes down the paper on the ramp. Again, letting them get a bit meltier was better.
Photobucket
Photobucket
It was a little crazy with all of the ramp watching that I was doing to get good pictures of this and they were all working too fast for me.

Then I brought out the real popsicles for eating and that was fun, of course, too!

4 Responses to “Summer Art Play Date #5”


  1. 1 carrita August 4, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    You are too much! WOW!

  2. 2 Rick August 5, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    Hey, Chuck and I did something like that last night at the lake—only it involved a bottle of Bradar Kimos “Da Bomb” Rum and straight shots.

  3. 3 Little Boys' Mommy August 12, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    I love the popsicle painting! What a wonderful idea! We will definitely be doing that tomorrow…Saturday we go all out on our artsy projects. 🙂 I also love the colored ice cubes which will be perfect for playing in our pirate ship water table. I can see the wars between pirates already! My 1yo will love the ice cube sliding painting which will coordinate well with the huge slope of a driveway we have in our front yard. Well, now the kids are not alone with their excitement for tomorrow’s day of art! I’ve joined in!


Leave a Reply

