Summer Art Play Date #7

This week was our final art play date of the summer.   While, I really, super enjoyed planning and executing these play dates, I am also ready for school, routine, and a little, tiny break for Momma.  I am hoping that I will be inspired to do summer art play dates next year as well.  I’ll keep you all updated if I do.  If you would like to see a list of all of the projects that we did this summer (fourteen!), click here.

Beaded Bubble Wands

I got this ideas from the blog Kleas via a post on The Crafty Crow.  This was super fun and was actually quite easy for all of the three and four year olds here.  I started them off by making the first loop in the florist wire and adding the first bead (which I wound the wire through in both directions).  Then they added beads and little fake flowers to their hearts’ content.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Then they dipped them in bubble solution and tried them out!
Photobucket
Recycled Jar Candle Holders
This is a project that I stole from preschool, as I got one from my dear daughter for Christmas. It is a super easy and fun project. You take a recycled jar, some small pieces of tissue paper (left over from making rainbows for us), and some watered down glue (homemade Modge Podge). The kids just paint some glue on the outside of a jar (any size will do) and stick the tissue paper on it. Then they add more glue on top to ensure that everything lays flat. These actually dried super fast and most were completely dry by the end of the play time.  You could add glitter to the gle and other sparkly things to stick on if you had them easily available, too. 
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Add a tea candle inside when you’re done, and light up the night!
Photobucket

3 Responses to “Summer Art Play Date #7”


  1. 1 Rick August 27, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Andy looked cute!

  2. 2 Karen August 27, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    I love mine from Drew, now maybe Kristen will get one too!

  3. 3 Victoria September 10, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    What a fun play date! I absolutely love the jar candles!


Leave a Reply

