Pumpkin Lanterns!

Okay, I know I’m late on the Halloween bandwagon this year.  It isn’t for lack of trying.  I swear that I have had my Halloween decorations out since October 1st and we have already gone to the pumpkin patch and have our costumes all ready.  But, blogging has not really been at the forefront of my mind.  We visited grandparents, had puking kids, I had an unexplainable day of fevers, not to mention preschool, doctor’s check ups, and life in general.  So, now its the middle of October and I have no Halloween posts to show for it!  I will make it up to you, though and I promise to add a few in the next couple of weeks.  Until then, here are a few previous Halloween posts:

And, here is a new Halloween craft to get you started as well.  I looked through my recycling and found a whopping seven jars that were just sitting there aching to be turned into something fun.  I found a fun idea in my October Family Fun magazine for Jar-o’-lanterns and realized that even little Nancy could do that, so that’s what we did.
For prep work I cut out all sorts of eyes, mouths, and noses for our pumpkin faces out of painters tape and the kids got to stick them down on the jars.  Then I watered down some tempera paint (orange only!) and we got started painting.  The big kids made two jars each and the toddlers made one each.  I gave them brushes, but Nancy decided that they we optional (of course!).

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Then we let them dry and I carefully peeled off the painters tape and plunked a candle in to light up our dinner time! Super easy and fun!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

7 Responses to “Pumpkin Lanterns!”


  1. 1 Kristen October 13, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    We light ours up every day for dinner 🙂

  2. 2 carrita October 13, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    Those are too cool!

  3. 3 Candace October 13, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    Love the tape resist!

  4. 4 Rick October 13, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    YOUR Mother has stopped me from buying any more Halloween candy. We get hundreds of kids here trick or treating & I’m not making that up. I’m going to buy some more anyway—–hey don’t let her see this comment or the little kids without candy will be your fault/

  5. 5 Karen October 14, 2011 at 12:28 am

    Yeah because he EATS it, love the vests, glad they are getting SOME use, per Andy’s coment, thought they never would, love the candles, and of course the kids making them, those faces crack me up.

  6. 6 Rick October 15, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    Ha Ha Ha I bought more candy today!!!!!!

  7. 7 Kelli October 18, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    I am still behind the Halloween bandwagon! Those jar-o-lanterns are so cute! Saw your post on the FamilyFun fb page. 🙂


Leave a Reply

