A tree to play with

I don’t think that I’ve mentioned this before, but the week before Thanksgiving, we got new carpet at our house.  Its awesome.  I love it.  It took our ninety year old house with carpet from the eighties into the new century.  It was totally worth the time and money that we had to invest in it.  It has made decorating for Christmas pretty fun.  I decided that our stairwell up to the bedrooms needed a garland on the railing where I had never done anything before because we’re the only ones who ever see it.  And I also decided that I needed to decorate the basement playroom for Christmas, as its finally a place that I don’t mind spending time.  Being as its a play room, I wanted it to be something I wouldn’t have to monitor with the kids, unlike all of the other decorations.  I hung a strand of lights around the door way and then stalled out.  Everything else was somewhat breakable.  Then I saw this awesome idea from Family Fun for a shipping box tree.  This I could make and then just recycle after the holidays.  Plus, the girls would get the fun of decorating their own room.

Photobucket
Photobucket
First we spent some time making ornaments on circles cut out of cereal boxes. We added ribbons, glitter paint and stickers using both glue sticks and contact paper. Both girls were happy doing this for almost and hour.  There was A LOT of ribbon cutting.
Photobucket
Then I cut out and assembled the tree and set it up on a coffee table in the basement. The girls helped decorate it and it does add a festive flair to the space.
Photobucket

4 Responses to “A tree to play with”


  1. 1 Karen December 13, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Very cute,surprised you put lights on it though. Can’t wait to see your house!

    • 2 mysillylittlelife December 15, 2011 at 2:36 pm

      I only draped the end of the lights I had on the wall over it for pictures. They are not usually on there and for sure are not on there unsupervised.

  2. 3 Beth December 18, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    This is so fun & cute!! LOVE it! And I love your ornaments too – what fun !! I am your newest follower! I wanted to invite you to link up to TGIF Linky Party – http://livinglifeintentionally.blogspot.com/search/label/Linkey%20Parties – I know my readers would love this!! Merry Christmas,
    Beth

  3. 4 Faye Wolfe February 1, 2012 at 10:37 am

    Hi,

    I’m the Letters Editor at FamilyFun and I’m interested in possibly mentioning your blog in our Mailbox section. Can you please contact me? faye.wolfe@meredith.com

    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

