Paint with water

Photobucket
I’ve been a little bit obsessive lately about portable projects, games, and puzzles for the kids.  Things to take to places like restaurants and doctor’s appointments.  Things to keep them busy on airplanes flying to Maui.  So I have organized a busy bag swap  and I’ll let you know all about that later, but I found this fantastic idea well after I had already planned all of the busy bags that I made, so I get to share it separately.  I found this idea from Creative with Kids via Not Just Cute (a fabulous parenting blog).

These little watercolor sheets are super portable and just need a tiny bit of water to get them started.  I think that they would be fabulous for dinner out where you have to wait for your food.  I bought a ten sheet pack of watercolor paper for $2.99 and a set of water color paints in tubes for $12 with a 40% off coupon (so a little over $7).  I cut the paper into fourths so I’ll end up getting 40 little painting sheets and the paints are going to last a super long time, so I think this is a very good value.  I plan to make little sets of these with a paintbrush tied on for all of the upcoming birthdays this year.  I can’t think of any kids who wouldn’t like these.

Photobucket

Anyway, after I cut the paper into fourths, I dabbed a little tiny dot of paint from six different colors onto the paper and let them dry.  When you’re ready to paint, all you have to do is add a tiny bit of water to each dot, and you have a little palate to paint with.  Clara loved it and made four paintings right off the bat.

Photobucket

3 Responses to “Paint with water”


  1. 1 carrita January 10, 2012 at 11:06 am

    Great idea! You are too cute.

  2. 2 Karen January 10, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    Now, it came together, couldn’t figure the hard paint part out, paint in tubes never have seen that except in oil paint. Good idea.


Leave a Reply

