Teaching Toddler Shapes

This week when I had the two squirmy toddlers, I decided that we needed to learn some shapes. It turns out that both of them could only name the heart shape. Wah! I know Clara knew more than that by twenty-two months. Oh to have the time to drill things like that into the second child’s head. But, none-the-less, I’m going to make up for it. We did three shapes projects this week. The first two were spur of the moment activities that simply led the kids to learn some names of the shapes. Construction paper, contact paper, markers, stickers, etc. and two little projects were born in about twenty minutes.
Photobucket
Photobucket

Then on Thursday, I set up a painting project (which by the way, earned me all sorts of bonus Auntie points with Chloe who loves to paint, but for some reason never does). I grabbed our shape sorter shapes, some washable paint, and a couple of paper plates. I taped some big paper on the table to keep it from slipping around or hitting the floor. Then after we picked colors of paint and reviewed all of the shapes, I pretty much let them go for it. I tried to talk about what shapes they were painting with as they went as well. Fun, messy learning!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

2 Responses to “Teaching Toddler Shapes”


  1. 1 Karen February 26, 2012 at 11:02 am

    2 words, pre-school teacher!!!!

  2. 2 Rick February 27, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Its been snowing over there and the kids are half naked. Now over here…….


Leave a Reply

