Contact Paper Butterflies

Photobucket
Contact paper is one of my favorite toddler art mediums.  It creates the sort of art projects that are both engaing for toddlers and also contains the mess enough that parents don’t go crazy.  If you’re new here, here are a few of the ways we’ve used it in the past:

This past week I saw this post from one of my favorite craft for kid blogs, No Time for Flashcards.  I knew that the toddler girls would absolutely love this and it would be easy to fit it into our shapes theme.  I had both contact paper and various shaped gems from our Dollar Tree in the house to use, so all I really had to prepare were the butterfly shapes.  I also found some glitter that was left over from another project as I was rummaging around looking for the gems and took that out too.  Glitter is perfect for using with contact paper because it stick immediately and is pretty much mess free (see the cute snowman we made at the bottom of this post, also).

I stuck the butterfly outlines on the contact paper and let the girls go with their shapes.  We talked about the colors and shapes as they put them on, then I let them shake a bunch of glitter on for extra sparkle.  I then put another piece of contact paper on top the secure all of the glitter and beads inside and they were done!  Hooray!!
Photobucket
Photobucket

2 Responses to “Contact Paper Butterflies”


  1. 1 Karen March 1, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    Both girls look really serious about their shapes!!!!!!Great window art.

  2. 2 Rick March 2, 2012 at 11:24 am

    They’ve got clothes on—–must really be cold!


Leave a Reply

