How to make a six page book

Photobucket
This is something that I make all the time for Clara at home and just realized that I had never posted about.  It is a six page book made from one sheet of paper with no tape or staples required to hold it together.  I learned how to make them at Camp Silver Creek way back (thirteen years ago!) when I was a camp counselor.  At camp we called them “hip pocket books” because you could write down all sorts of games and songs and activities to do with kids in them and keep them in your hip pocket to pull out when you needed them.  Later I used the same books in my classroom for kids to take notes on throughout a unit or to write little books about some subject or other we were working on.  Now, with Clara we use them to write stories in or to just draw pictures in.  I’m also going to post in the next few days about how we used them to record our findings in a little experiment we’re doing.

So, here is how to make a six page book, with pictures to help!

1)  Get yourself a piece of paper.  This one is 11 x 17 construction paper, but you could use any rectangular paper (even notebook paper works).
Photobucket
2) Fold the paper in half lengthwise. I always told my eighth graders to fold it “hot dog style.”
Photobucket

3) Then, fold that in half again.
Photobucket

4) And in half again.
Photobucket

5) Open the paper up all the way and then fold is in half along the lines you already have width wise, or “hamburger style” if you would.
Photobucket

6) Cut down from the top, folded edge half way, along the middle line.
Photobucket

7) Open it back up and refold the paper lengthwise (hot dog style).
Photobucket

8) This is the hardest step. Push inward on the paper to make the hole that you cut bigger and the paper somewhat star shaped. Keep pushing until you have it all pushed inward with no hole showing anymore.
Photobucket

9) Fold it together into a book and crease it to keep it that way.
Photobucket

5 Responses to “How to make a six page book”


  1. 1 Kristen March 14, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    WOW! You truly are amazing! Now I can do this too, I won’t have to ask you anymore 🙂

  2. 3 Rick March 15, 2012 at 11:13 am

    Ahhh, you lost me on hot dog.

  3. 4 Karen March 15, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    I did it I’m Hip Pocket ready!!! Hmm I wear dresses, I will leave in my wallet for shopping list!!!


Leave a Reply

