Messy Ghost Painting

With a very rainy morning and two toddlers to entertain, I decided that a project was just the thing we needed.  I searched one of my favorite blogs for Halloween ideas and came upon this fabulous puffy paint ghost. I had shaving cream in my art supply cabinet from summer art, and still have half a gallon of white glue, so this was a project that didn’t require any new supplies!
Photobucket
To start off, I had both girls (in paint shirts) mix a bowl of shaving cream and glue together while I drew large outlines of ghost on a brown paper bag.  Then I put the outlines down and the girls finger painted them all over.
Photobucket
Photobucket
There was not a clean hand in the house! After it was smeared everywhere, we added some googlie eyes and a construction paper mouth that I had cut out. Then we let them dry for a couple of hours.
Photobucket
When they were dry, I cut them out along the lines that I had drawn earlier (although they weren’t very visible at this point) and we hung them up so they could spook the house!
Photobucket
Nancy just loves to go over and touch her ghost because the “paint” dries fluffy and soft. I’m thinking we’ll have to do this again for snowmen soon!

7 Responses to “Messy Ghost Painting”


  1. 2 Karen October 25, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    Oh my and Nancy even had a bracelet on! In the kitchen too, you are a brave Mommy! Looks like they had WAY too much fun!!!

  2. 4 Kaye Kittrell October 26, 2012 at 9:37 am

    Simple, inexpensive and tactile fun! Just what little ones need! 🙂 – Kaye
    http://www.youtube.com/user/kittrellkaye

  3. 5 Karen October 26, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    Okay no bracelet, must be the painting shirt over a shirt!

  4. 6 cneron October 26, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    Such a great idea!-C

    What you do makes a difference, and you have to decide what kind of difference you want to make. -Jane Goodall

    Date: Thu, 25 Oct 2012 21:17:47 +0000 To: courtney_misslin@hotmail.com

  5. 7 Rick October 28, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    Hey, did you hear I found a gecko skeleton in the back yard? Full skeleton, tiny little ribs, head, tail, legs, all together. I printed out a sheet that said “I am the gecko ghost of Halloweens past BEWARE” and pasted the skeleton on it and taped it to the neighbors front door. Good times


Leave a Reply

