Sensory Bin of the Month: Valentine’s Bin

I know it isn’t quite Valentine’s Day yet, or even February for that matter, but I couldn’t help myself.  I went to Dollar Tree the other day and there was a ton of fun things to make a Valentine’s sensory bin, so I scooped some up and went home and put it together.  And, I must say that this one is a hit.  After our snow village, this one seems super clean.  It also seems that the pink and red is irresistable to my girls.  The first night they played with it for at least an hour and a half straight and then all this weekend it has been broken into and played with every day.  I have eaten a lot of “love soup” this weekend.

In this bin, I have a set of ten little heart boxes, some sparkly foam glitter hearts (table scatter), some plastic red hearts (also table scatter), a bag of fake rose petals, and some random gems that I found in the girls’ room in a little box.  All of those were from Dollar Tree.  Then to add a bit more interest I dumped in some dry white beans and barley from my pantry and a few bowls for scooping things into, a couple of egg cartons, and two pairs of kid chopsticks.

 photo P1186597_zps67728ebe.jpg

We have scooped, sorted, cooked, hoarded, patterned, and dumped with this bin and it was broken in to again today. This just might be the easiest and most loved sensory bin yet.

 photo P1186599_zps5d28a38c.jpg

 photo P1186602_zpsa8a3e361.jpg

2 Responses to “Sensory Bin of the Month: Valentine’s Bin”


  1. 1 Karen January 22, 2013 at 5:57 pm

    Love soup sounds delish! What a great sensory bin, very colorful.

  2. 2 Kaye Kittrell January 23, 2013 at 8:51 am

    I love everything you come up with! Your kid is so lucky to have such a creative, thoughtful mom! – Kaye


Leave a Reply

