Peanut Butter Bees

Photobucket

I went to my childhood home on Saturday.  As we were driving up to it, I told Clara that this is where I lived when I was her age.  Her response was, “Oh, okay.”  Then she thought about it a little while and said, “Do you still live there?”  Ummm.  No.  So much for sharing.  The whole Mommy had a life before my existence thing is just mind-boggling to a three-year-old.

Anyway, also the other day, I was paging through a cookbook and found a recipe very similar to a recipe that I used to make in that very same house.  I think I learned it at Girl Scouts.   Or maybe I took them to Girl Scouts.  I know there was something to do with Girl Scouts attached to these.  But, I knew that my girls would just love to eat them, and since I was in reminiscing mode, anyway, today was the perfect day.    The book called for crumbled shredded wheat rather than wheat germ, but that was what I always used, so I switched it.  These are super wholesome and yummy.  They are packed with protein and fiber, not to mention cute.

Peanut Butter Bees

1/2 C.peanut butter

2 T. honey

1/4 C. -non-fat dried milk

2 T. sesame seeds

1/4 C. wheat germ (or crumbled shredded wheat)

Cocoa powder and sliced almonds for garnish

Combine all ingredients except the garnishes in a bowl and stir until completely combined.  Shape into small ovals (about two dozen).  Using a toothpick dipped in cocoa powder, make three stripes on top of each oval.  Stick in to almond “wings” and serve to your favorite kids.  Or eat them all yourself.  They are super good.

Photobucket

12 Responses to “Peanut Butter Bees”


  1. 1 Michele May 9, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Too cute! Do you use sweetened or unsweetened cocoa powder?

    • 2 mysillylittlelife May 9, 2011 at 2:48 pm

      Thanks! I use unsweetened; its such a small amount that it doesn’t really make difference, though.

  2. 3 Rick May 9, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    I’m sure they’ll be gone before I get there next week.

  3. 4 Kristen May 9, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    They were super yummy! All the kids gobbled them up too 🙂

  4. 5 Karen May 10, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    Oh, forgot about those!!! I always had peanut butter, wheat germ and powdered milk in the house, and almonds for Mimi!!!I don’t remember the girl scout thing but do remember the bees, and the bunny cakes!!!!!!!!!Love you see you all next week can’t wait.

  5. 6 Josh May 14, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    I think we’ll have to try these. Maybe they’ll make Miles less scared of bees.

  6. 7 Susie May 16, 2011 at 12:10 am

    great snack idea! My daughter is really into bugs, so we’re going to try this. Thanks!

  7. 8 Rick May 21, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    I was right—-none there for me when I got there.
    However, the homemade beer was excellent.

  8. 9 Cindy May 26, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    How fun we just might have to add these to our teddy bear picnic menu!

  9. 10 asthydays April 15, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    Thank you for posting this recipe! I have been looking everywhere for it. Just made some 🙂

  10. 11 allison June 13, 2012 at 11:41 am

    just found this recipe! will be great for kids, but is there a substitute for the dry milk powder? what does it do for the recipe and can i just omit it? or is there something i can use in place of it? thanks!

    • 12 mysillylittlelife June 14, 2012 at 2:35 pm

      I think that you probably could leave out the dry milk powder and just add a bit more of the wheat germ. The milk powder soaks up some the liquid, so you would need to add more of something that would work the same way.


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 55 other subscribers