Summer Fun Ideas!

I cannot believe that it is already summer vacation!  Clara just completed her first year of preschool (just two mornings a week) and I am beside myself.  I just don’t know what we’re going to do with all of our new-found time!  I have some good ideas.  We’re going to host an outside art play date a few times a month (more on those art projects to come)!  We’re going to do tons of fun things like swim at our favorite outdoor pool, go camping in California and at Lake Billy Chinook, play at our favorite parks and fountains (remember this post of great places to play in SW PDX?), and of course, have a big rainbow birthday bash for the big girl.

But, what is one to do on a day when there is nothing looming on the horizon and (hopefully) hot boredom is setting in.  For, that, I stumbled upon this brilliant little idea.  I couldn’t/ wouldn’t sew a pouch, but I did find an empty applesauce jar just sitting in the recycling that was perfect.  A little construction paper, markers, and a glue stick… viola!
Photobucket
Then I dug around for some popsicle sticks and used a sharpie to write activities on.  Next time we’re bored, with nothing to do, all we have to do is rummage around in the jar, pull out a popsicle stick and get on with a great time together.  I read them all to Clara as we placed them in the jar.  The only one that didn’t get a “hooray!” was storytime in the backyard.  But, I bet if there were ice cream sandwiches involved a good time could even be had doing that.
Photobucket
I promise that as we do some of these things I will report back on them here.  I also promise that the art projects will show up as well as a chicken and garden update coming soon.  I would go out and take some pictures of the baby chickens in their new digs right now, but its pouring rain.  Wait, isn’t it supposed to be summer?

7 Responses to “Summer Fun Ideas!”


  1. 1 Rick May 26, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    You’re right—-I haven’t seen summer here yet.
    Just what is hot boredom? Can you explain on this family blog? If not, email me, no no that might be too risky, whisper when you see me.

  2. 2 carrita May 26, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    I want to go to a teddy bear picnic! Never been to one. You are such a good mommy!

  3. 3 Cindy May 26, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    Thanks for the mention! Love what you did with it! Blanket fort in the back yard sounds awesome! We may have to try that! Looking forward to reading more about you art projects! And the rainbow birthday! We art having an art/rainbow birthday this fall!

  4. 4 Michele May 26, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    Okay, I can make a jar (I wasn’t sure about sewing the bag, thanks for thinking out of the box, or bag in this case). You are such a good inspiration! Feel free to add “slip and slide at Oliver’s house” to your popsicle sticks, he’d been waiting about 10 months for the hot weather to have his friends over to join him!

    In an attempt to keep Oliver busy, he started gymnastics class today. LOVED it!

  5. 5 Kristen May 26, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    Where is the prayer walk?

  6. 6 Karen May 27, 2011 at 7:48 am

    How about relay races, little ones, like a bean on a plastic spoon, and run to put it in a can or jar, we use to do alot of these in the back yard, learn hopscoth, and drawing the squares with sidewalk chaulk. Of course bean bag toss! Tag.

  7. 7 mamaslittledears May 31, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    love this idea! I will be doing this with my kids 🙂


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 55 other subscribers