Garden Update

I’ve been away from blogging for a while now since the weather here has been so beautiful. I’ve been weeding, working on the garden, playing in the sun, watching the kids run through the sprinkler, and otherwise just not worrying about the computer. But, it is raining today. So here I am. First, I want to show you the rock path that I mentioned working on in my last post. I think it turned out pretty well.
Photobucket
That took quite a bit of time to get put back together. I have also been trying out a few home remedies for problems in the garden. I don’t have results for all of them yet, and I’ll post more when I do, but I did want to tell you about scalding weeds, which I did a bunch of in the last couple of weeks.
Here’s the spot that I scalded before:
Photobucket
Under all of that ridiculous grass and random weeds are a bunch of stepping stones that separate my garden beds so that I don’t step on any plants. I spent an afternoon boiling water in my new electric teakettle (which I have no idea how I lived without for this long–its so fast!) and walking it out the garden and then pouring it slowly on to the weeds around the stepping stones. Some of the grass needed a second application about three days later, but after only a few days all of it was brown and dead without having to put any week killer so close to my vegetable garden beds! Hooray! Here is the after picture with a bit of brown weed pulling:
Photobucket
As you can see, the garden beds are all planted.  In the top bed I have corn and pumpkins planted from seed.  In the middle are green beans, two kinds of zucchini, carrots, and broccoli.  The bottom bed includes more green beans, kale, lettuce, and cucumbers.

I’ll be back with a few more garden updates later in the month and I promise more crafty posts soon and the coming of this year’s summer art in a couple of weeks!

5 Responses to “Garden Update”


  1. 1 Kristen May 21, 2012 at 6:00 pm

    Your garden looks really GREAT!

  2. 2 Karen May 21, 2012 at 6:26 pm

    It’s looks great! Boiling water who knew? is that a dandelion in the lower left corner of the kale square? Love thos Kale chips.

    • 3 mysillylittlelife May 21, 2012 at 6:37 pm

      No, its not a dandelion, its a flower that I planted. Can’t remember the name, but anyway, it was meant to be there.

  3. 5 carrita May 22, 2012 at 11:17 am

    Your garden looks great!


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 55 other subscribers